When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Faculty & Staff

Liberty University’s School of Music is proud to include world-class musicians as their faculty and staff. These professors are committed to the mission of the School of Music: to train and equip musicians as Champions for Christ!


Administrative Faculty

Vernon Whaley
Dr. Vernon Whaley

Residential Dean, School of Music
vwhaley@liberty.edu


Dr. Sean Beavers

Online Dean, School of Music
sbeavers@liberty.edu

Stephen Muller School of Music
Dr. Stephen Müller

Associate Dean, Center for Music Education & Performance
swmuller@liberty.edu


Dr. Paul Rumrill

Associate Dean, Center for Music & Worship
prumrill@liberty.edu


Department Chairs


Dr. Mark Greenawalt

Chair, Department of Applied Music; Associate Professor of Music, Voice
mgreenawalt@liberty.edu


Dr. David Hahn

Chair, Department of Commercial Music; Associate Professor of Music and Worship, Voice
dmhahn@liberty.edu


Dr. John W. Hugo

Chair, Department of Music Theory and History; Professor of Music, Voice, and Conducting
jwhugo@liberty.edu


Dr. Stephen P. Kerr

Chair, Department of University Bands; Professor of Music; Director of Bands
spkerr@liberty.edu


Dr. Katherine Morehouse

Chair, Department of Multi-Ethnic Music Studies; Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology
khmorehouse@liberty.edu


Dr. Rebecca Watson

Chair, Department of Music Education; Assistant Professor of Music Education and Double Reeds
rwatson10@liberty.edu


Area Coordinators


Dr. Michael Brennan

Coordinator of Guitar Studies; Associate Professor of Music, Guitar
mbrennan@liberty.edu


Dr. Tad Hardin

Coordinator of Keyboard Studies; Assistant Professor of Piano
pthardin@liberty.edu


Dr. Cassandra Hibbard

Coordinator of Woodwind Studies; Assistant Professor of Music, Clarinet
chibbard@liberty.edu


Dr. Samantha Miller

Coordinator of Vocal Studies; Associate Professor of Music, Voice
srmiller1@liberty.edu


Dr. Andrew Phillips

Coordinator of Brass Studies; Associate Professor of Music, Brass
atphillips2@liberty.edu


Dr. David Schmal

Coordinator of Film Scoring; Professor of Commercial Music
dkschmal@liberty.edu


Dr. Luca Trombetta

Coordinator of Strings Studies; Assistant Professor of Music, Viola & Violin
dltrombetta@liberty.edu


Jay Ware

Coordinator of Percussion and Drum Set Studies; Assistant Professor of Music, Percussion
rware3@liberty.edu


Faculty


Dr. Patricia Campbell

Associate Professor of Music, Voice
pcampbell@liberty.edu


Dr. Kevin Chiarizzio

Associate Professor of Music Education, Brass
kchiarizzio@liberty.edu

Keith Cooper
Assistant Professor of Music, Guitar
kcooper21@liberty.edu


Dr. Mindy Damon

Associate Professor of Commercial Music, Voice
bmdamon@liberty.edu


Dr. Yevgeniy Dovgalyuk

Assistant Professor of Music, Violin
ydovgalyuk@liberty.edu

Daryl Duff
Assistant Professor of Music, Voice
edduff@liberty.edu

David Feldman
Associate Professor of Music, Cello, and Bass
dfeldman@liberty.edu


Dr. Ruth Foley

Associate Professor of Music, Voice
rifoley@liberty.edu

Linda GrangerLinda Granger
Associate Professor of Music, Voice
lzgranger@liberty.edu

Joseph Henson
Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies, Saxophone
jdhenson@liberty.edu


Dr. Rick Jupin

Associate Professor of Music and Worship, Voice
rmjupin@liberty.edu


Dr. Taeseong Kim

Associate Professor of Music, Piano
tkim@liberty.edu


Dr. Woori Kim Smith

Associate Professor of Music, Piano
wkim1@liberty.edu


Dr. Wayne Kompelien

Professor of Music, Voice; Director of Opera Workshop
wbkompel@liberty.edu


Don Marsh

Associate Professor of Music and Worship, Songwriting
dmarsh@liberty.edu


Dr. Gabriel Miller

Associate Professor of Music, Theory
jgmiller1@liberty.edu


Dr. Leon Neto

Assistant Professor of Music, Guitar, and Voice
lneto@liberty.edu

Chris Piorkowski
Associate Professor of Film Scoring
cpiorkowski@liberty.edu

Dwight Spencer
Assistant Professor of Music, Guitar
ddspencer@liberty.edu


Dr. Daniel Suttles

Associate Professor of Music, Piano, and Conducting
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Adelaide Trombetta
Assistant Professor of Music; Voice Director of Opera Workshop
amuir@liberty.edu


Dr. Kathryn Voelker

Assistant Professor of Music Education, Piano
klvoelker@liberty.edu


Dr. Samuel Wellman

Professor of Music, Piano, and Composition
swellman@liberty.edu

Placeholder photoJon Werking
Assistant Professor of Commercial Music & Entrepreneurial Studies

jwerking@liberty.edu


Kim Witt
Associate Professor of Music, Piano
kbwitt@liberty.edu

Nathan Zwald
Assistant Professor of Sound Engineering and Music; Director of Audio Production
njzwald@liberty.edu


School of Music Staff


Alissa Passburg
Administrative Director
apassburg@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3875


Hanna Byrd
Director of Practica, Adjunct Professor of Worship
hbyrd3@liberty.edu
(434) 592-5569


Kaitlyn Collier
Administrative Assistant, Center for Music Education & Performance
kmknapp@liberty.edu
(434) 582-2215


Pat Edmiston

Director of Programming and Special Events, School of Music
pedmiston@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4188

Stephanie Gates
Program Content Editor
sgates4@liberty.edu

Placeholder photoAlyssa Hurley
Assistant Director, Spirit of the Mountain Marching Band
amhurley3@liberty.edu
(434) 582-7363


Meghan Lambert
Receptionist, School of Music
meobrien2@liberty.edu
(434) 592-6568


Rebecca McKennett
Administrative Assistant, Center for Music and Worship
rkmckennett@liberty.edu
(434) 582-2282


David Pritchard
Coordinator of Equipment Tuning and Repair, School of Music
dspritchard1@liberty.edu
(434) 592-7729


Stephanie Pritchard
Faculty Support Coordinator, Graduate and Online Music Studies
skpritchard1@liberty.edu
(434) 592-6564


Christy Solomon
Administrative Director, Coordinator of Publishing/Copyright Management
cgstone@liberty.edu
(434) 592-7093


Patrick Shorts
Staff Accompanist and Arranger
pjshorts@liberty.edu

Becca Stegall
Administrative Director
rstegall@liberty.edu
(434) 592-6563


Kevin Williams
Director of Event Operations, School of Music
kmwilliams8@liberty.edu


Timmy Williamson
Director of Communication, School of Music
tjwilliamson2@liberty.edu
(434) 582-2203


Adjunct and Online Professors

Kyle Bailey, B.M., M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music
kcbailey@liberty.edu

Dr. Zeb Balentine, B.A., M.A., D.W.S
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
zbalentine@liberty.edu

Dr. John Benham, B.M., M.A., Ed.D.
Adjunct Professor of Worship and Ethnomusicology
jbenham@liberty.edu

Scott Bullman, B.M., M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
sbullman@liberty.edu

Dr. Hanna Byrd, B.S., M.A., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
hbyrd3@liberty.edu

Dr. Joshua Carver, B.M., M.M., Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor of Music Education
jacarver1@liberty.edu

Dr. Jamie Coates, B.S., M.A., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
jcoates1@liberty.edu

Tony Cooper, B.A., M.A., D.W.S. (ABD)
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
jacooper1@liberty.edu

Dr. Doug Crawley, B.M.Ed., M.C.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music and Worship
dcrawley3@liberty.edu

Dr. Keith Currie, B.M.E., M.M.E., D.M.A
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
kacurrie2@liberty.edu

Dr. Lorie Danielson, B.M., M.M., Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
ldanielson3@liberty.edu

Dr. Lindsey Graham, B.M., M.A., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
lmgraham@liberty.edu

Kevin Haglund, B.M., M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Applied Music Studies

Mike Harland, B.A., M.C.M.
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies, Songwriting
mharland@liberty.edu

Alycia Hugo, B.M., M.M.
Assistant Professor of Music, Flute
ahugo@liberty.edu

Reka Jobaggy, B.M., M.M.
Adjunct Professor of  Music, Voice

Dr. John Kinchen, B.M., M.M., D.M.A
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
jkinchen@liberty.edu

Dr. Stephen Klingbeil, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
sklingbeil1@liberty.edu

Cliff Lambert, B.M., M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music, Voice
celambert@liberty.edu

Dr. Kimberly Martin, B.S., M.A., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
kamartin@liberty.edu

Dr. Gary Mathena, B.M.,  M.M.Min., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
gmmathena@liberty.edu

Dr. George McDow, B.M.E., M.M.E., Ph.D.
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology
ghmcdow@liberty.edu

Dr. Jeff Meyer, B.M., M.A., Ph.D.
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology
jtmeyer@liberty.edu

Dr. John Mohler, B.M.E., M.M., M.A., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
jrmohler@liberty.edu

Dr. Jerry Newman, B.M., M.A., Ed.S., D.W.S.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
jlnewman@liberty.edu

Kimberly Parker, B.M., M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music, Piano

Kristin Quint, B.M., M.M.
Adjunct Professor of Harp

Dr. Doug Randlett, B.A., B.M., M.A., D.Min.
Associate Dean of Ministry Training,
Rawlings School of Divinity – Worship Leadership
dhrandlett@liberty.edu

Paul Randlett, B.S., M.A., Ph.D. (ABD)
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
phrandlett@liberty.edu

Dr. Thomas Seel, B.M., B.A., M.M., M.B.A., D.M.A
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
taseel@liberty.edu

Larry Seipp, B.M., M.M.
Assistant Professor of Music, Trumpet
lmseipp@liberty.edu

Dr. Tim Sharp, B.M., M.C.M., D.M.A
Adjunct Professor of Graduate Conducting

Dr. James Siddons, B.M., M.M., M.Div., Th.M., Ph.D.
Professor of Music
(434) 592-4899
jdsiddons@liberty.edu

Dr. Curtis Smith, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music, Piano

Dr. Monica Taylor, B.M., M.Ed., Ed.S., Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor of Music Education
mtaylor89@liberty.edu

Dr. Rodney Whaley, B.A., M.A., M.Div., D.Min.
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies
rdwhaley@liberty.edu

Brenda Widger, B.M.E., M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Worship
bwidger@liberty.edu