When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Faculty & Staff

The Helms School of Government at Liberty University trains and equips students to become Christ-centered statesmen and stateswomen in the fields of criminal justice, government, political science, public policy and administration, the law, international relations, strategic intelligence, and national security.  The knowledge gained from our programs, integrated with Biblical wisdom, gives our students a sound historical, structural and philosophical education in American government at all levels, firmly rooted in Judeo-Christian principles of governance, justice and liberty. Our faculty in the Helms School of Government bring real-world experience and a keen understanding of the critical issues facing society into the classroom. In addition to our residential team, our programs include over two hundred adjunct faculty involved in distance education for online courses.

See all Program Directors listed by school and program name.

Deans

Dean Robert HurtRobert Hurt
Residential Dean
govtdean@liberty.edu

 
 


Dr. Suzanne Caruso

Associate Dean for Online Operations
sfcaruso@liberty.edu


Dr. Stephen Parke

Associate Dean for Residential Programs and Department Chair for Government
smparke@liberty.edu

 
 

Residential Faculty


Robert Cooper

Assistant Professor of Government
rcooper2@liberty.edu


Dr. Joel Cox

Department Chair for Criminal Justice

jmcox5@liberty.edu


Dr. Gai M. Ferdon

Professor of Government
gmferdon@liberty.edu


Dr. Mary Prentice

Associate Professor of Government

msprentice@liberty.edu


Lawrence Presley

Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
lapresley@liberty.edu

Dr. Ben Rathsam
Assistant Professor of Government
brathsam@liberty.edu


Edna Udobong

Associate Professor of Government and Fulbright Program Advisor and Scholar Liaison
eudobong3@liberty.edu
(434) 592-5460


William Waddell

Assistant Professor of Government
wwaddell@liberty.edu

 
 

Online Faculty


Dr. Suzanne Caruso

Associate Dean for Online Operations
sfcaruso@liberty.edu

Dr. Jason Ross
Department Chair for Doctoral Programs and Research
jross124@liberty.edu

 
 

Residential Staff

Melanie Lamm
Department Secretary
mlamm2@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3702

Titus Pettman
Senior Administrative Assistant to the Dean
tpettman2@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3698

Sarah Fendrich
Career Coach
sefendrich@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4109

Logan Skillman
Professional Advisor
laskillman@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4359

Sarah Spillar
Professional Advisor
sespillar@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4360

 
 

Online Staff

Marcus Akers
Director of Projects and Initiatives
makers4@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3688

Deidre Akers
Faculty Support Coordinator
dakers3@liberty.edu
(434) 592-6402

Chris Rhoades
Faculty Support Coordinator
cprhoades@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4509

Paige Staples
Faculty Support Coordinator
pmzappitella@liberty.edu
(434) 592-5567