When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Faculty & Staff

The Helms School of Government at Liberty University trains and equips students to become Christ-centered statesmen and stateswomen in the fields of criminal justice, government, political science, public policy and administration, the law, international relations, strategic intelligence, and national security.  The knowledge gained from our programs, integrated with Biblical wisdom, gives our students a sound historical, structural and philosophical education in American government at all levels, firmly rooted in Judeo-Christian principles of governance, justice and liberty. Our faculty in the Helms School of Government bring real-world experience and a keen understanding of the critical issues facing society into the classroom. In addition to our residential team, our programs include over two hundred adjunct faculty involved in distance education for online courses.

See all Program Directors listed by school and program name.

Deans


Dr. Jason Ross
Interim Associate Dean
jross124@liberty.edu


Dr. Stephen Parke

Associate Dean for Residential Programs and Department Chair for Government
smparke@liberty.edu

 
 

Residential Faculty


Robert Cooper

Assistant Professor of Government
rcooper2@liberty.edu


Dr. Joel Cox

Department Chair for Criminal Justice

jmcox5@liberty.edu


Dr. Gai M. Ferdon

Professor of Government
gmferdon@liberty.edu


Dr. Mary Prentice

Associate Professor of Government

msprentice@liberty.edu


Lawrence Presley

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
lapresley@liberty.edu

Dr. Ben Rathsam
Associate Professor of Government
brathsam@liberty.edu

Scott Roenicke
Associate Professor of Government
swroenicke@liberty.edu


Amanda Trent
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
atrent4@liberty.edu


Edna Udobong

Associate Professor of Government and Fulbright Program Advisor and Scholar Liaison
eudobong3@liberty.edu
(434) 592-5460


William Waddell

Associate Professor of Government
wwaddell@liberty.edu


Online Faculty

Dr. Becky Munson
Department Chair for Government and Public Policy
bmunsonlollar@liberty.edu


Dr. Fred Newell
Department Chair for Public Safety and Administration
fnewell@liberty.edu

Dr. Jason Ross
Interim Associate Dean
jross124@liberty.edu

 

Residential Staff

Sharene Duncombe
Department Secretary
sduncombe1@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3702

Titus Pettman
Senior Administrative Assistant to the Dean
tpettman2@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3698

Debra Saucier
Career Coach
djsaucier@liberty.edu

Sarah Spillar
Professional Advisor
sespillar@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4360


Drew Wallen
Professional Advisor
dwallen3@liberty.edu
(434) 592-7213

 
 

Online Staff

Deidre Akers
Faculty Support Coordinator
dakers3@liberty.edu
(434) 592-6402

Marcus Akers
Director of Projects and Initiatives
makers4@liberty.edu
(434) 592-3688

Catherine Latchford
Doctoral Student Support Coordinator
cllatchford@liberty.edu
(434) 582-7207

Chris Rhoades
Faculty Support Coordinator
cprhoades@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4509

Paige Staples
Faculty Support Coordinator
pmzappitella@liberty.edu
(434) 592-5567