When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Faculty & Staff

The Helms School of Government at Liberty University trains and equips students to become Christ-centered statesmen and stateswomen in the fields of criminal justice, government, political science, public policy and administration, the law, international relations, strategic intelligence, and national security.  The knowledge gained from our programs, integrated with Biblical wisdom, gives our students a sound historical, structural, and philosophical education in American government at all levels, firmly rooted in Judeo-Christian principles of governance, justice and liberty. Our faculty in the Helms School of Government bring real-world experience and a keen understanding of the critical issues facing society into the classroom. In addition to our residential team, our programs include over two hundred adjunct faculty involved in distance education for online courses.

See all Program Directors listed by school and program name.

Contact School of Government faculty and staff by emailing government@liberty.edu


Dr. Joel Cox
Associate Dean and Department Chair for Criminal Justice

Dr. Jason Ross
Interim Associate Dean


Residential Faculty

Robert Cooper

Assistant Professor of Government

Tony Cothron
Assistant Professor of Government

Dr. Gai M. Ferdon

Professor of Government

Dr. Kahlib Fischer

Department Chair for Government and
Professor of Government

Dr. Thomas J. Metallo

Professor of Government

Dr. Mary Prentice

Associate Professor of Government

Lawrence Presley

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice

Dr. Ben Rathsam
Associate Professor of Government

Scott Roenicke
Associate Professor of Government

Amanda Trent
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice

Edna Udobong

Associate Professor of Government and Fulbright Program Advisor and Scholar Liaison


Online Faculty

Dr. Rebecca Munson
Department Chair for Government and Public Policy

Dr. Fred Newell
Department Chair for Public Safety and Administration

Dr. Jason Ross
Interim Associate Dean


Residential Staff

Sharene Duncombe
Faculty Secretary

Titus Pettman
Assistant Director of Operations

Debra Saucier
Career Coach

Drew Wallen
Professional Advisor


Online Staff

Deidre Akers
Faculty Support Coordinator

Marcus Akers
Director of Projects and Initiatives

Catherine Latchford
Doctoral Student Support Coordinator

Chris Rhoades
Faculty Support Coordinator

Paige Staples
Faculty Support Coordinator