Professional Advisors

Professional Advisors offer personalized advising for residential freshmen, first semester transfer students, students in academic difficulty, Club Sports and NCAA student athletes.

Advising by Major

** Optional teacher licensure track


Professional Advising

David Hart

Director of Advising, Assistant Professor
dhart@liberty.edu
(434) 592-7015

 


 

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.R., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • 11 years in Enrollment Management (including Director of Admissions, Director of Visitors Center), prior to joining CASAS in 2006.
  • Teaches CLST 104 and CLST 105
  • At LU since 1995

Jim Blunk

Assistant Director of Advising
jbblunk@liberty.edu
(434) 592-4092

 

 


Biography

  • B.A., Mercer University; M.A.R., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • 4 Years in Education, prior to joining CASAS in 2007
  • Teaches CLST 105, INDS 400 and UNIV 101
  • At LU since 2006

Jenessa Sabanos

Jenessa Sabanos

Lead Advisor: Undecided [last name A-G]
jsabanos@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

 

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Interned as a health educator; worked for 1 1/2 years as a customer care specialist
  • At LU since 2014

Scott Mehorter

Scott Mehorter

Lead Advisor: Cinematic Arts; Studio & Digital Arts (TL); Theatre Arts (TL); Undecided [last name O-Z]
scmehorter@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.R., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • At LU since 2012

Ashley Foster

Professional Advisor: Aeronautics/Aviation; Criminal Justice [last names M-Z]
asfoster@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • 3 years of experience working for an international children's choir
  • At LU since 2015

Christen Palmer

Professional Advisor: Athletic Training, Exercise Science, Kinesiology, Health Promotions, and Public Health
cpalmer41@liberty.edu
DeMoss Hall 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop
 


Jonathan Chung

Professional Advisor: Club Sport Student - Athletes
jchung3@liberty.edu
LaHaye Ice Rink

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.T., Liberty University
  • 2 years teaching for the VAIS at a local exceptionalities school; 2 years coaching for Club Sports before joining CASAS in 2015
  • At LU since 2011

Heath Kimmel

Lead Advisor: Undecided [last name H-N]
hjkimmel@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.B.A, Liberty University
  • 7 years' experience working in MLB (Pittsburgh Pirates & Atlanta Braves); 6 years' experience working at Liberty in Admissions, Campus Recreation, and Athletics before joining CASAS
  • At LU from 2006-2010 & 2012-2014; At LU since 2015

Jake Mitchell

Professional Advisor: Biblical Studies; Camp & Outdoor Adventure Leadership; Christian Leadership & Church Ministries; Global Studies; Pastoral Leadership and Biblical Exposition; Religious Studies; Theology & Apologetics; Youth Ministries
jamitchell2@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.Div., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • 2 years of experience in Children’s and Student Ministry
  • 3 years as Graduate Student Assistant and Online Instructor with the School of Divinity at LU

Donavan Sebastian

Professional Advisor: Biomedical Sciences; Biopsychology; Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Cell & Molecular Biology 
ddsebastian2@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

 


Angela Cage

Professional Advisor: Music (TL); Worship & Music
arcage@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

 

Biography

  • B.A., University at Buffalo; M.A., Liberty University
  • Current violist in Lynchburg Symphony Orchestra, past violinist with the Trans-Siberian Orchestra, and previous member of LU Praise Gospel Choir
  • At LU since 2012

Elisabeth Roselle

Professional Advisor: Coaching; Elementary Education Integrated Studies; Special Education Integrated Studies; Secondary Teacher Licensure; Sport Managment
edroselle@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1314 R (Inside the School of Education)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.Ed., Liberty University
  • 3 years of experience in Academic Affairs for Athletics, including roles as a graduate student assistant, as well as an Assistant Academic Coordinator/Technology Coordinator
  • At LU since 2013

Chris Ruiz

Professional Advisor: American Sign Language and Interpreting; English (TL); Interdisciplinary Studies; Spanish (TL); Teaching English as a Second Language (TL)
cruiz8@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4072

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Fluent in Spanish and American Sign Language
  • At LU since 2016

Sarah Spillar

Professional Advisor: Criminal Justice (A.A., B.S.) [last names A-L]; Government (A.A., B.A., B.S.); International Relations; Law & Policy
sespillar@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • 5 years working for the American Israel Public Affairs Committee in Washington, D.C.

B.A. Scott

Professional Adivsor: Business Administration (Last Names A-K); Accounting
bascott3@liberty.edu

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


 

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A., Liberty University
  • 9 years of experience in management, corporate and retail
  • At LU from 2008-2011, 2014; 3 years of experience at Liberty University Online

Shalie Williams

Shalie Williams

Professional Advisor: Family and Child Development; Family and Consumer Sciences (TL); Fashion Merchandising and Interiors; History (B.A., B.S.); Math (TL); Philosophy; Social Sciences (TL)
siwilliams1@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4382 (Department of History/Philosophy)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A., Liberty University
  • 3 years at Liberty University in the College of Arts and Sciences before joining CASAS
  • At LU since 2010

Ty Thomassian

Professional Advisor: NCAA Student-Athletes
tthomassian@liberty.edu
Liberty Athletic Center, Room 2740

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop
 

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • At LU since 2015

Martha Magee

Professional Advisor: Nursing [last names A-K]
mrmagee@liberty.edu
DeMoss 2132 CA (School of Nursing)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S.N., Mississippi University
  • R.N. with 5 years of hospital experience in Mississippi and Centra Health/Virginia Baptist Hospital
  • At LU since 2016

Jessica Elliott

Professional Advisor: Nursing [last names L-Z];
jdelliott6@liberty.edu
DeMoss 2132 CB (School of Nursing)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

 

Biography

  • A.A., Central Virginia Community College; B.S.N., UVA '97
  • R.N. with 20 years of experience in mostly Cardiac and Surgical Nursing field
  • Head Nurse of the Infirmary at Hargrave Military Academy for 5 years
  • Previous I-team Member of Clinical Informatics for Surgical Services
  • At LU since 2017

 


Jillian Paul

Jillian Riordan

Professional Advisor: Digital Media; Journalism; Speech Communication; Strategic Communication
jriordan1@liberty.edu
Green Hall 1500 L

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Graduated with an Advertising/Public Relations degree; 1 1/2 years with LUO Academic Advising
  • At LU 2011-2012; At LU since 2014

Stephen Hester

Professional Advisor: Engineering- Computer [last names A-K]; Engineering- Electrical; Engineering- Mechanical
srhester@liberty.edu
DeMoss 3418 (School of Engineering)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.T., Liberty University
  • 5 years working in student ministries in local churches; taught in elementary schools in Washington, D.C., Lynchburg City, and Danville
  • At LU since 2015

Ruby Easaw

Ruby Easaw

Professional Advisor: Human Services [last names L-Z]; Psychology; Social Work [last names L-Z]
rveasaw@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4334 (Department of Psychology)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Biography

  • B.S., Wilson College; M.A., Liberty University
  • At LU since 1996

Sarah Lewis

Professional Advisor: Applied Internet Technology; Computer Science (TL); Engineering- Computer [last names L-Z]; Engineering- Industrial & Systems; Web Technology & Design
selewis4@liberty.edu
DeMoss 3419

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Graduated with a Business Management Information Systems degree in Database and Data-Networking
  • At LU since 2015

Jenessa Sabanos

Lead Advisor: Biology (TL); Chemistry; Environmental Biology; Environmental Science (TL); Forensic Science; Zoo & Wildlife Biology; Zoology
jsabanos@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Interned as a health educator; worked for 1 1/2 years as a customer care specialist
  • At LU since 2014

Eli Craft

Professional Advisor: Business Administration (TL) [last names L-Z]; Informatics; Information Systems; Information Technology
ecraft@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop

Biography

  • B.S. Liberty University
  • 3 years of experience working as a mental health clinician (QMHP-A)