Professional Advisors

Advising by Major

** Optional teacher licensure track


Professional Advising

David Hart

Director of Advising, Assistant Professor
  dhart@liberty.edu
 (434) 592-7015

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.R., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • 11 years in Enrollment Management (including Director of Admissions, Director of Visitors Center), prior to joining CASAS in 2006.
  • Teaches CLST 104 and CLST 105
  • At LU since 1995

Jim Blunk

Assistant Director of Advising
 jbblunk@liberty.edu
 (434) 592-4092

  • B.A., Mercer University; M.A.R., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • 4 Years in Education, prior to joining CASAS in 2007
  • Teaches CLST 105, INDS 400 and UNIV 101
  • At LU since 2006

Jenessa Sabanos

Jenessa Sabanos

Lead Advisor: Undecided [last name A-G]
 jsabanos@liberty.edu

DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Interned as a health educator; worked for 1 1/2 years as a customer care specialist
  • At LU since 2014

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Scott Mehorter

Scott Mehorter

Lead Advisor: Cinematic Arts; Studio & Digital Arts (TL); Theatre Arts (TL); Undecided [last name O-Z]
 scmehorter@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.R., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • At LU since 2012

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Ashley Foster

Professional Advisor: Aeronautics/Aviation; Criminal Justice [last names M-Z]
 asfoster@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • 3 years of experience working for an international children's choir
  • At LU since 2015

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Lauren Daly

Professional Advisor: Biomedical Sciences; Biopsychology; Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
 ledaly@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.S., Liberty University

  • Former primary instructor in the Department of Biology/Chemistry, Admissions Consultant for Liberty University Online, and Professional Advisor for the residential Department of Biology/Chemistry

  • At LU since 2012

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Christen Palmer

Professional Advisor: Athletic Training, Exercise Science, Kinesiology, Health Promotions, and Public Health
cpalmer41@liberty.edu
DeMoss Hall 1100

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Jonathan Chung

Professional Advisor: Club Sport Student - Athletes
 jchung3@liberty.edu
LaHaye Ice Rink

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.T., Liberty University
  • 2 years teaching for the VAIS at a local exceptionalities school; 2 years coaching for Club Sports before joining CASAS in 2015
  • At LU since 2011

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Heath Kimmel

Lead Advisor: Accounting; Business Administration (TL) [last names A-K]; Undecided [last name H-N]
 hjkimmel@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.B.A, Liberty University
  • 7 years' experience working in MLB (Pittsburgh Pirates & Atlanta Braves); 6 years' experience working at Liberty in Admissions, Campus Recreation, and Athletics before joining CASAS
  • At LU from 2006-2010 & 2012-2014; At LU since 2015

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Jake Mitchell

Professional Advisor: Biblical Studies; Camp & Outdoor Adventure Leadership; Christian Leadership & Church Ministries; Global Studies; Pastoral Leadership and Biblical Exposition; Religious Studies; Theology & Apologetics; Youth Ministries
 jamitchell2@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.Div., Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
  • 2 years of experience in Children’s and Student Ministry
  • 3 years as Graduate Student Assistant and Online Instructor with the School of Divinity at LU

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Angela Cage

Professional Advisor: Music (TL); Worship & Music
 arcage@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.A., University at Buffalo; M.A., Liberty University
  • Current violist in Lynchburg Symphony Orchestra, past violinist with the Trans-Siberian Orchestra, and previous member of LU Praise Gospel Choir
  • At LU since 2012

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Elisabeth Roselle

Professional Advisor: Coaching; Elementary Education Integrated Studies; Special Education Integrated Studies; Secondary Teacher Licensure; Sport Managment
 edroselle@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1314 R (Inside the School of Education)

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.Ed., Liberty University
  • 3 years of experience in Academic Affairs for Athletics, including roles as a graduate student assistant, as well as an Assistant Academic Coordinator/Technology Coordinator
  • At LU since 2013

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Chris Ruiz

Professional Advisor: American Sign Language and Interpreting; English (TL); Interdisciplinary Studies; Spanish (TL); Teaching English as a Second Language (TL)
 cruiz8@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4072

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Fluent in Spanish and American Sign Language
  • At LU since 2016

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Jay Wrenn

Professional Advisor: Human Services [last names A-K]; Psychology [last names A-K]; Social Work [last names A-K]
 jwrenn@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4334 (Department of Psychology)

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • 4 years ministry experience as a Youth Pastor; 3 years prior experience in Academic Advising for Liberty University Online; 8 years experience as a Mental Health Counselor (QMHP-C, Clinician IV) before joining CASAS in 2015
  • At LU from 2003-2006; At LU since 2015

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Sarah Spillar

Professional Advisor: Criminal Justice (A.A., B.S.) [last names A-L]; Government (A.A., B.A., B.S.); International Relations; Law & Policy
 sespillar@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S. Liberty University
  • 5 years working for the American Israel Public Affairs Committee in Washington, D.C.

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Shalie Williams

Shalie Williams

Professional Advisor: Family and Child Development; Family and Consumer Sciences (TL); Fashion Merchandising and Interiors; History (B.A., B.S.); Math (TL); Philosophy; Social Sciences (TL)
 siwilliams1@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4382 (Department of History/Philosophy)

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A., Liberty University
  • 3 years at Liberty University in the College of Arts and Sciences before joining CASAS
  • At LU since 2010

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Ty Thomassian

Professional Advisor: NCAA Student-Athletes
 tthomassian@liberty.edu
Liberty Athletic Center, Room 2760

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • At LU since 2015

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Martha Magee

Professional Advisor: Nursing
 mrmagee@liberty.edu
DeMoss 2132 CA (School of Nursing)

  • B.S.N., Mississippi University
  • R.N. with 5 years of hospital experience in Mississippi and Centra Health/Virginia Baptist Hospital
  • At LU since 2016

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Jillian Paul

Jillian Riordan

Professional Advisor: Digital Media; Journalism; Speech Communication; Strategic Communication
 jepaul@liberty.edu
Green Hall 1500 L

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Graduated with an Advertising/Public Relations degree; 1 1/2 years with LUO Academic Advising
  • At LU 2011-2012; At LU since 2014

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Stephen Hester

Professional Advisor: Engineering- Computer [last names A-K]; Engineering- Electrical; Engineering- Mechanical
 srhester@liberty.edu
DeMoss 3418 (School of Engineering)

  • B.S., Liberty University; M.A.T., Liberty University
  • 5 years working in student ministries in local churches; taught in elementary schools in Washington, D.C., Lynchburg City, and Danville
  • At LU since 2015

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Ruby Easaw

Ruby Easaw

Professional Advisor: Human Services [last names L-Z]; Psychology [last names L-Z]; Social Work [last names L-Z]
 rveasaw@liberty.edu
DeMoss 4334 (Department of Psychology)
 

  • B.S., Wilson College; M.A., Liberty University
  • At LU since 1996

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Sarah Lewis

Professional Advisor: Applied Internet Technology; Computer Science (TL); Engineering- Computer [last names L-Z]; Engineering- Industrial & Systems; Web Technology & Design
 selewis4@liberty.edu
DeMoss 3419
 

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Graduated with a Business Management Information Systems degree in Database and Data-Networking
  • At LU since 2015

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Jenessa Sabanos

Lead Advisor: Biology (TL); Chemistry; Environmental Biology; Environmental Science (TL); Forensic Science; Zoo & Wildlife Biology; Zoology
 jsabanos@liberty.edu

DeMoss 1100

  • B.S., Liberty University
  • Interned as a health educator; worked for 1 1/2 years as a customer care specialist
  • At LU since 2014

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop


Eli Craft

Professional Advisor: Business Administration (TL) [last names L-Z]; Informatics; Information Systems; Information Technology
 ecraft@liberty.edu
DeMoss 1100

  • B.S. Liberty University
  • 3 years of experience working as a mental health clinician (QMHP-A)

One-on-One Appointment
Group Workshop