When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give



The Representative branch of Student Government affords students the opportunity to make a real difference on our campus. The Senate serves as one of the two Houses in the Representative branch and is comprised of two representatives from each School, who are appointed by their respective Deans. The Senate meets every other week and is a place for students to share ideas, collaborate and work together towards the betterment of the schools of study which comprise our university. Senate Committees will be formed once the Senate convenes and a Senate President has been elected.

Track Legislation!

David Bean

Senate President

Being a Senator


Student Representatives connect with students and collaborate with fellow representatives to propose positive change on campus.


  • Meet with students and hear their concerns and ideas.
  • Collaborate with other Senators in a Committee to turn ideas into legislation.
  • Attend a bi-weekly Senate meeting where legislation is discussed and voted upon.
  • Meet with University Administration to consider and implement legislation.
  • Participate and volunteer in SGA events and activities.


The length of one term for a Senator is one academic year.


View the Senate bylaws.


Student Representatives may receive CSER credit. Regular attendance is taken at meetings, and representatives are expected to faithfully attend SGA meetings, events and related activities.

Becoming a Senator

To become a Senator, a student must be appointed by the Dean of their respective school. Once appointed, the student will be contacted by the President of the Senate with information regarding next steps.