You are here: Home > About Liberty

Liberty captures its sixth straight Sasser Cup title 

Liberty University wins 6th straight Sasser Cup

Request information about Liberty University

Apply to Liberty University

Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare Google+ Instagram Pinterest

Fresh from winning 10 conference championships during the 2012-13 school year, Liberty University once again has the top athletics program in the Big South Conference. In May, Liberty was awarded the Big South’s George F. “Buddy” Sasser Cup for the sixth year in a row.

Liberty has won this title 11 times in the last 16 years, and the honor gives Liberty more awards than any other athletics department in conference history, beating longtime rival Coastal Carolina’s nine Sasser Cups.

Ten of Liberty’s 18 programs sponsored by the Big South won titles, including baseball, football, men's basketball, men's cross country, men's indoor track & field, men's outdoor track & field, volleyball, women's basketball, women's cross country, and women's outdoor track & field.

Liberty’s 10 conference titles during the 2012-13 athletics year rank the school second nationally among all NCAA Division I programs. The university was the only NCAA Division I program in the country to capture conference titles in football, men’s and women’s basketball, and baseball.

Princeton University led the country with 11 of its 31 athletics programs claiming conference titles. Liberty tied nationally with Stanford, with 10 of its 36 varsity programs capturing titles.

Liberty will begin its quest for another successful athletics season on Thursday, Aug. 29, when Flames Football opens the 2013 season at Kent State.