When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Liberty Athletics announces newest Hall of Fame members

Liberty Athletics has announced it will induct six former student-athletes into the Hall of Fame Class of 2023. This year’s class includes representatives from football, men’s basketball, men’s track & field, women’s basketball, women’s swimming & diving, and women’s tennis.

The new members will be honored at special ceremonies during Liberty’s Hall of Fame Weekend football game against New Mexico State on Sept. 9 at Williams Stadium.

Sarah (Wilkerson) Erps

Women’s Basketball / 1997-2000

Erps is one of four players in program history to earn all-conference honors all four years of their playing career and one of three Lady Flames to make four all-tournament team appearances. She still holds the program’s all-time record for career assists (526) and three-point shooting percentage (39.7) more than two decades following her playing days.

Jonita (Randolph) Joseph

Women’s Tennis / 2004-07

Joseph won all-conference honors three times in her career (2004, 2006, 2007) and was the program’s first ever Big South Player of the Year after posting a 19-3 record in 2007.

Jeff Meyer

Men’s Basketball Coach / 1981-97

Meyer posted a 259-206 winning record and currently stands as the program’s all-time winningest coach. A three-time Coach of the Year, Meyer led Liberty to its first-ever Big South Basketball Championship in 1994.

Todd Pettyjohn

Men’s Track & Field / 1991-94

Pettyjohn was a three-time IC4A champion (1993 outdoor decathlon and pole vault; 1994 indoor pole vault) and was the inaugural outdoor men’s pole vault champion for the Big South Conference in 1994. He also held the Liberty record in outdoor men’s pole vault (17-6.5) for 20 years.

Brye Ravettine

Women’s Swimming and Diving / 2011-14

Ravettine was Liberty’s first-ever Most Outstanding Female Swimmer of the CCSA Championship (2012), first Most Outstanding Newcomer of the CCSA Championship (2011) and first CCSA Swimmer of the Year (2012). She also became the Lady Flames’ first All-American (honorable mention), placing 13th in the 50 freestyle at the 2012 NCAA Championships. She was also a two-time CollegeSwimming.com Mid-Major All-American (2011 – honorable mention; 2012 – first team).

Rupert Wright

Football / 1977-80

Wright, along with running back Kim Raynor, was named to the 1978 Churchmen’s All-America first team, becoming Liberty’s first-ever first-team All-American. The four-year starter was voted Liberty’s top offensive lineman each year of his standout career. He was also named the Flames’ Offensive MVP as a sophomore in 1978.


For more information about the Liberty Hall of Fame Class for 2023, visit LibertyFlames.com.


Chat Live Chat Live Request Info Request Info Apply Now Apply Now Visit Liberty Visit Liberty