When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Liberty wins Big South Institutional Sportsmanship Award

Liberty University has been named the winner of the Big South Conference's annual Institutional Sportsmanship Award for the 2011-12 athletic season, it was announced today.

Liberty becomes the first Big South institution ever to earn the Sasser Cup and Institutional Sportsmanship Award in the same year. It is also the first time the Flames have captured the Institutional Sportsmanship Award, after VMI won the previous six honors.

During the 2011-12 athletic season, Liberty squads garnered a conference-best seven Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards, as voted upon by conference student-athletes. The women's cross country, women's soccer, men's soccer, men's basketball, men's golf, men's outdoor track & field, and women's outdoor track & field teams were each honored this year.

In total, Liberty squads have won 39 Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards since the award's inception in 2005-06, which is the most of any conference member.

2011-12 Big South Team Sportsmanship Award Winners

Baseball: Charleston Southern
Softball: Campbell
Women's Outdoor Track & Field: Liberty
Men's Outdoor Track & Field: Liberty
Women's Tennis: Radford
Men's Tennis: Presbyterian College
Men's Golf: Liberty
Women's Golf: Gardner-Webb
Women's Basketball: Campbell
Men's Basketball: Liberty, Presbyterian College
Women's Indoor Track & Field: UNC Asheville
Men's Indoor Track & Field: Radford
Football: VMI
Volleyball: Charleston Southern
Men's Soccer: Campbell, Liberty
Women's Soccer: Liberty
Women's Cross Country: Liberty
Men's Cross Country: VMI