School of Engineering & Computational Sciences continues growth with excellence

February 19, 2014

Liberty University’s School of Engineering & Computational Sciences is growing at a rapid rate. The school’s experienced faculty as well as its recent accreditation and technology upgrades have increased enrollment inquiries by 400 percent.

In Fall 2013, SECS received ABET accreditation for its computer science and computer engineering programs. Since SECS’s electrical engineering and industrial & systems engineering programs were ABET accredited in 2012, this new accreditation ensures that 100 percent of its students will have graduated under an ABET-accredited program. ABET is the recognized accreditor of college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and engineering technology.

The school continues to strengthen existing programs while seeking to add new ones that will both improve its academic standing and train students for an ever-changing job market.

The school received final approval from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, the university’s main accrediting agency, for a new master’s program in cybersecurity. SECS is also awaiting approval for a mechanical engineering program, the single most requested engineering program.

To ensure that the leadership of SECS fulfills the school’s potential for growth and continued innovation, David Donahoo was recently promoted to dean after serving as interim dean for 18 months.

“Donahoo is a highly effective leader who was able to coalesce his faculty into a harmonious working team,” said Dr. Ron Godwin, Liberty’s provost and senior vice president for Academic Affairs. “Enrollment and retention have significantly improved, and under his leadership several programs secured ABET accreditation.”

SECS clubs have also demonstrated the school’s commitment to excellence. The Cyber Defense Club had an outstanding showing at the National Cyber League Fall Season competition, claiming the top three spots in the Gold Bracket out of 945 participants.

Students competed in the tournament on Oct. 19 and 26, against more than 100 institutions across the nation, including James Madison University, Radford University, North Carolina State University, San Diego State University, Texas A&M, and West Virginia University.

Brandon Kreisel took first place overall, with Hannah Kirse winning second, Jeremiah Brown finishing third, and Joshua Eto placing 10th. Matt Johnson posted a top 10-caliber score but was ineligible for competition because he did not participate in a previous ranking exercise. All five students are seniors.

Get the e-magazine straight to your inbox!

It only takes a click to unsubscribe.