When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Liberty News

Chancellor appointed to governor’s Commission on Higher Education Reform

May 28, 2010 : University Advancement staff

Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell has appointed Liberty University Chancellor Jerry Falwell, Jr. to the Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation and Investment.

The Commission’s objectives include improving higher education by preventing tuition increases, attracting more college-age Virginians, developing innovative ways to deliver quality instruction and preparing students to meet workforce demands.

“We must make higher education more affordable and accessible for Virginians, and expand pathways to earning a college degree,” McDonnell said. “Our institutions of higher learning are known worldwide for their innovation, research and quality. Here in Virginia they are job-creators and economic drivers. We must ensure they continue to operate at the highest levels, while remaining accessible to Virginia students.”

Joining Falwell on the Commission will be the presidents of eight Virginia colleges and universities, as well as several business, education policy and government officials. (See list below).

The Commission is scheduled to have its first meeting in early July and will submit a final report with recommendations by Nov. 30.

Members of the Governor’s Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation, and Investment

· Tom Farrell, Chairman, President and CEO, Dominion Resources, Inc. Former Rector of the University of Virginia

· William Barr, Former U.S. Attorney General
· Dr. Bill Bosher, Executive Director, Commonwealth Policy Institute and Distinguished Professor of Public Policy and Education, Virginia Commonwealth University
· John Broderick, President, Old Dominion University
· Delegate Kirk Cox, Colonial Heights
· Delegate Rosalyn Dance, Petersburg
· JoAnn DiGenarro, President, Center for Excellence in Education
· Mark Dreyfus, President and CEO, ECPI Colleges
· Jerry Falwell, Jr., Chancellor, Liberty University
· Heywood Fralin, CEO of Medical Facilities of America, Inc.
· Dr. Rachel Fowlkes, Executive Director, Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center
· Dr. William Harvey, President, Hampton University
· Dr. Bob Holsworth, Founder and President, Virginia Tomorrow
· Senator Edd Houck, Spotsylvania
· Dr. Robert Lindgren, President, Randolph-Macon College
· Delegate Scott Lingamfelter, Prince William
· Thomas Loehr, Executive Vice President - Crosspointe Operations, Rolls Royce
· Dr. Mirta Martin, Interim Dean, School of Business and Professor of Management, Virginia State University
· G. Gilmer Minor, Chairman, Owens and Minor, Inc.
· Dr. Pamela Moran, Superintendent, Albemarle County Public Schools
· Raj Narasimhan, Site Director, Micron Technology Virginia
· Paul Nardo, Chief of Staff, Speaker William J. Howell
· Senator Steve Newman, Lynchburg
· Leslie Peterson, Director of Operations, Chmura Economics and Analytics
· Dr. B. Carlyle Ramsey, President, Danville Community College
· Dr. Linwood Rose, President, James Madison University
· Delegate Tom Rust, Herndon
· Dr. Charles Steger, President, Virginia Tech
· Senator Walter Stosch, Glen Allen
· Todd Stottlemyer, Executive Vice-President, Inova Health System
· Robin Sullenberger, CEO, Shenandoah Valley Partnership
· Paul Trible, Jr., President, Christopher Newport University
· Senator William Wampler, Bristol
· Charlie Whitaker, Senior VP of Human Resources and Compliance, Altria Client Services, Inc

Other members include the Secretaries of Education, Technology, and Finance or designate, and the Vice-Chairman of the Council on Virginia’s Future. The Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of Commerce and Trade, and Senior Economic Advisor shall serve as ex officio members.

Chat Live
Request Info
Apply Now
Visit Liberty