History

A to Z Maps Online

Antique and modern maps from all over the world covering political, geographical, physical, and historical themes Video Tutorial

Accessible Archives

Full-text primary source articles, books, newspapers, and periodicals on 19th and 20th century American history

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Full-text e-books on humanities Video Tutorial

African American Experience: The American Mosaic

Peer-reviewed journals, biographies, primary and secondary sources, and media covering the African American experience from its African origins to the present day

AM Explorer

Full-text, primary sources from the portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital spanning social sciences and humanities from the 15th to the 21st centuries, including handwritten text recognition, data visualization, and video and oral histories

America: History and Life with Full Text

Full-text journals and books covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present

America’s Historical Imprints (Formerly Early American Imprints: Evans & Shaw-Shoemaker)

Index of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other scare printed material covering American history, literature, culture, and daily life from 1639-1819

American Civil War Research Database

Indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, including photographs, regimental rosters, and officer profiles (Updated semiannually)

American History in Video

Streaming video content, including a large volume of contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s, early newsreels, and full-length documentaries Video Tutorial

American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic

Primary source documents and media covering historical and contemporary issues of Native American tribes from all regions of North America, including captivity narratives, traditional stories, treaties, speeches, maps, images, and videos as well as articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors

American National Biography

Biographies of significant, influential, or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars Video Tutorial

British Periodicals

Full-text periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth covering literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture Video Tutorial

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Full-text working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos covering international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies

Daily Life through History

Reference collection of primary and secondary sources as well as journal articles, including peer-reviewed essays, covering daily life from 10,000 BC to the present Video Tutorial

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts

Full-text searchable database of early writing concerning Protestantism

Directory of Open Access Journals

Online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals

Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution

Primary sources tracing the Constitution’s progress through each of the thirteen states’ conventions

Early Republic

Primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members

EEBO (Early English Books Online)

Extensive full-text collection of early English books, including titles by John Locke, Captain John Smith, William Shakespeare, and others Video Tutorial

eHraf World Cultures

Scholarly ethnographic collection organized by regions, subregions, and cultures, covering all aspects of cultural and social life of indigenous peoples and ethnic groups from historical to contemporary times

Gilded Age

Primary documents and scholarly commentary on the social and cultural history of the late nineteenth century in America, including rare materials such as songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera

Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912

Full-text access to issues of Harper's Weekly published between 1857-1912

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

Index of journal literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present with coverage dating back to 1863

Issues & Controversies in American History (Facts on File)

Articles, primary source documents, biographies, timelines, images, and statistics providing background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major topics in American History

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Bibliography of books, journal articles, reviews, dissertation abstracts, and essays about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700

JSTOR

Full-text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences Video Tutorial

Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic

Primary source documents and media as well as peer-reviewed essays covering the heritage and culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United states from pre-16th century to the present, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and photographs

MEMSO (Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online)

Repository of state papers, chronicles, accounts, and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland, and continental Europe as well as books and manuscripts related to the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800) (Updated weekly)

Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)

Scholarly journals, magazines, and reports that cover all aspects of past and present military affairs and that support key subject areas such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, and the structure of the armed forces (Updated annually)

Music Online: African American Music Reference

Full-text of reference works, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression Video Tutorial

Music Online: American Music

Audio streams of sound recordings of songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys as well as songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more

Oxford Academic Journals

Full text of electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press from 1996 to the present Video Tutorial

Oxford African American Studies Center

Articles from reference works along with primary source documents, images, maps, charts and tables, and commentaries that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture

Oxford Scholarship Online

Full-text academic e-books from Oxford University Press, including business and management, economics and finance, history, literature, neuroscience, philosophy, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and a variety of other subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law (Updated monthly)

Papers of Alexander Hamilton

Full-text of The Papers of Alexander Hamilton which contains all the writings by and to Hamilton known to exist, including all editorial annotations

Periodicals Archive Online

Full-text back files of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas (ABC-CLIO)

Primary and secondary sources, including photos, illustrations, audio and video recordings, and biographies of iconic figures, covering life in American since 1900s through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; and transportation and travel

Proceedings

Index of worldwide conference proceedings

Project MUSE

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from the world's most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies Video Tutorial

ProQuest Civil War Era

Primary source materials, including regional newspapers, pamphlets, and other documents, covering Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War and a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Single-search of the full-text of The New York Times (1851-2014), The Washington Post (1877-2002), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1993), The Guardian (1791-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003), including full page and article images

Sabin Americana: 1500-1926

Full-text books, pamphlets, broadsides, and documents providing firsthand accounts of more than 400 years of history in the Americas, including North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana

U.S. History (Gale in Context)

Reference works, news and periodical articles, and primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers, providing contextual information on the most signification people, events, and topics in U.S. History from the arrival of the Vikings in North America to the present        

U.S. History (Gale OneFile)

Scholarly journals and magazines covering events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work in the field (Updated daily)

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)

Full-text articles addressing both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism (Updated daily)

Wiley Online Library

Journal articles, books, and reference resources covering a wide variety of disciplines Video Tutorial

World Folklore and Folklife

Reference works, handbooks, classic folk tales, contextual material, multimedia resources, images, and maps that address holidays, festivals, language, stories and fairy tales, proverbs, foodways, and folk remedies that define our society and our place within it

World Geography & Culture Online (Facts on File)

Articles, facts, maps, flags, statistics, videos, images, biographies of famous people, timeline, and current news related to the geography, history, society, and culture for each nation as well as U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and international territories

World History (Gale in Context)

Rare primary sources, reliable reference material, and multimedia content from the ancient world to the present, covering the most-studied events, cultures, civilizations, religions, and people

World History (Gale OneFile)

Scholarly journal and magazine articles useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers (Updated daily)

World History in Video

Critically-acclaimed documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

Primary source documents, academic journals, news feeds, reference articles and commentary, maps, statistics, and audio and video about Latin America and the Caribbean, including politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology (Updated daily)

·