Music

Christian Periodical Index

Index of Christian magazines and journals with strong emphasis on evangelical perspectives, including a broad range of topics such as religion, science, literature, music, philosophy, history, nursing, and education from the mid-1970s to the present

Directory of Open Access Journals

Online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals

Ethnographic Video Online

Streaming video of human culture, behavior and society around the world, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)

Articles covering drama, music, art history, and filmmaking Video Tutorial

Humanities International Complete

Full-text journals (including some peer-reviewed), books, and other published humanities sources

JSTOR

Full-text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences Video Tutorial

Library Music Source

Digital sheet music, including obscure and hard-to-find pieces, classics, vocal solos, opera solos, opera scores, orchestral parts, and more Video Tutorial

Music & Performing Arts

Audio and video that spans all time periods and includes seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles

Music Index

Journal articles covering every aspect of classical and popular music with coverage since 1970 Video Tutorial

Music Online: African American Music Reference

Full-text of reference works, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression Video Tutorial

Music Online: American Music

Audio streams of sound recordings of songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys as well as songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more

Music Online: Classical Music Library

Audio streams of sound recordings of music from the earliest times to the present, featuring the world's great artists recorded by the foremost record labels (Updated monthly)

Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library

Reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music, including full-text of Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music Video Tutorial

Music Online: Classical Scores Library

Full, study, piano, and vocal scores of classical major and lesser known composers, including works from the Middle Ages to the 21st century Video Tutorial

Music Online: Contemporary World Music

Audio streams of sound recordings of music of all regions from every continent, including reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more

Music Online: Jazz Music Library

Audio streams of sound recordings of jazz, including a variety of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres

Music Online: Opera in Video

Video of the most important opera performances, including staged productions, interviews, and documentaries that represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Audio streams of sound recordings of the world's musical and aural traditions in diverse musical forms

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Full-text of the ten-volume print encyclopedia along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps Video Tutorial

Music Periodicals Database

Journal articles, some with full text, that are international in scope and that cover the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition

Naxos Music Library

Audio streams of classical music along with background information of both standard and rare repertoire with representation of jazz, world, and pop/rock along (Updated monthly)

Naxos Sheet Music

Downloadable and printable sheet music for all classical genres, spanning from Medieval times to the 21st century and including composers from Bach to Arvo Part Video Tutorial and Research Guide

Naxos Video Library

Streaming videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries

Oxford Music Online

Peer-reviewed reference resources, including Grove Music Online encyclopedia, with comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship

Performing Arts Periodicals Database

Indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, including some full-text, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry such as dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, and television Video Tutorial

Project MUSE

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from the world's most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies Video Tutorial

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Citations, abstracts, and subject indexing for music-related articles published in journals and conference proceedings, covering all levels from classical to popular music, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory (Updated monthly)

RIPM with Full Text (Formerly RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals)

Rare, primary source music articles, reviews, illustrations, and other periodical content dating from the Early Romantic to the Modern Period (1760 to 1966) as well as analyses of writings on musical history and culture, including international sources with mostly full text (Updated semi-annually)

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600

Annotated index of music manuscripts written after 1600 and up to 1800 that are held in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, and private collections around the world, including images for a large number of music incipits

Wiley Online Library

Journal articles, books, and reference resources covering a wide variety of disciplines Video Tutorial

World Folklore and Folklife

Reference works, handbooks, classic folk tales, contextual material, multimedia resources, images, and maps that address holidays, festivals, language, stories and fairy tales, proverbs, foodways, and folk remedies that define our society and our place within it

·