News Archives

Liberty Moot Court Team Claims Second Consecutive Victory in National Constitutional Law Tournament

November 01, 2012

Liberty University School of Law has won the Twelfth Annual Leroy R. Hassell, Sr. National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition. Julia Amato and Michael Levens, both 2014 Juris Doctorate candidates, represented this year’s winning team.  The competition was hosted by Regent University School of Law on Friday and Saturday, October 26 and 27.  This victory marks the second year in a row that Liberty has won this competition. 

In addition to first place, Levens won best oralist overall, with Amato taking fourth in the same category.  Together, they were awarded fifth best brief.  “This is a national competition against a number of skilled teams. Winning a national competition is a significant achievement and a high honor,” said Mathew Staver, dean of Liberty University School of Law.  “To repeat as national champions with a completely different team illustrates the depth of talent and the success of the Moot Court program at Liberty.”

According to Scott Thompson, professor of law and director of the Center for Lawyering Skills, the team, from start to finish, did not lose a single round.  “During the preliminary rounds they beat Florida Coastal, Richmond, Ave Maria, and St. Louis, and during the elimination rounds they defeated William & Mary, Florida Coastal, and the second team from Richmond.  It was a fantastic tournament to watch.”

The winning team also traveled with fellow classmates John Mark Becton and Robert Vogel, both 2013 Juris Doctorate candidates, who were successful also in the tournament.

Dean Staver and Professor Thompson expressed their appreciation for Timothy Todd, assistant professor of law at Liberty.  “Professor Todd shared many of his oral argument tips at critical moments throughout the tournament and contributed greatly to our successes,” added Thompson.

“Professor Thompson has done an excellent job heading up the Moot Court program and to the teams, you make us very proud. Your success reflects on the law school and brings glory to our Lord. As you succeed, we all succeed,” concluded Staver.

The annual competition is named in honor of the late Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, Leroy R. Hassell Sr. who dedicated his life to fight for justice for the Commonwealth’s citizens.  During his distinguished career, the former chief justice championed constitutional rights and was a leader in equality becoming the first African American chief justice of the Virginia Supreme Court.