News Archives

Liberty Law Takes Top Prize at Moot Court Tournament

February 18, 2015

Liberty University School of Law took home top honors at its most recent moot court tournament, also finishing with a Best Brief award.

At last weekend’s William B. Spong Moot Court Competition in Williamsburg, Andy Brown and Erika Lukenbill defeated teams from the University of Virginia, Howard, Marquette, New York University and Regent University, before beating a team from South Texas College of Law in the finals.

The tournament, hosted by William & Mary’s Marshall Wythe School of Law, is one of the longest running moot court competitions in the country. Sixteen teams from twelve different schools competed.

Liberty also sent the team of Hugh Jackson and Kayla Bramnick. Their team advanced to the semi-final round, where they were defeated by South Texas College of Law. That team also faced competitors from Regent University, Georgetown Law and Southwestern Law School.

The victory is the highlight thus far of Liberty’s most successful moot court season in its history.  In four tournaments this year, Liberty has won a Championship, earned two second-place finishes, two Best Oralist awards, one Second-best Oralist award, two Best Brief awards, and two semi-finalist round appearances.

The weekend before, Liberty competed in the Charleston School of Law National Moot Court competition, where one of Liberty's teams advanced to the semi-finals.

Twenty-two teams from 16 different schools competed in that tournament.

Alexandra Hubbard and Robin Jenkins advanced to the semi-finals where they were defeated by Florida Coastal, who eventually won the tournament. Hubbard and Jenkins only lost two ballots during the entire tournament – one in the preliminary round and one in the semi-finals.

They defeated teams from the University of Massachusetts and Emory University. Hubbard was named best oralist of the tournament, and Jenkins received the professionalism award from the Charleston Moot Court Board.

Scott Copeland and Benjamin Rathsam finished the preliminaries with a 1 and 1 record. Though they did not advance to the elimination rounds, their loss also came to the Florida Coastal team that eventually won the tournament.

Professors Scott Thompson and Grant Rost coached the teams.

Thompson congratulated both teams on competing at the highest levels.

“We couldn’t be more proud of them.  The represented the Moot Court program, the University, and the Lord in a way that brought Him glory and honor,” Thompson said.