# 2018 LIST of AWARDS

## JESSE HELMS AWARD

#### Hannah Robillard

The Senator Jesse Helms Award recognizes students who, by their commitment to Christian principles, conservative ideals, a strong work ethic, and statesmanship, honor the legacy of Senator Jesse Helms.

## JOHN QUINCY ADAMS INTERNATIONAL REL ATIONS AWARD

## Hannah Lankford | Grace Pearson | Hannah Robillard

The John Quincy Adams Award recognizes the International Politics & Policy students who, by his or her commitment to international awareness, academic excellence, and virtuous statesmanship, reflects the example of John Quincy Adams, whose service as a U.S. senator from Massachusetts and one of America's foremost diplomats and influential secretaries of state, led to his election as the sixth president of the United States and a notable post-presidency as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives.

### RONALD S. GODWIN AWARD

## Hannah Lankford | William Norris

Named after the founding dean of the Helms School of Government, this award recognizes students for their accomplishments and distinguished activities outside the classroom, as well as their involvement in important political issues.

## G. HOWARD GREGORY AWARD

## Tyler Schurr

The G. Howard Gregory Award recognizes students whose character exemplifies a commitment to duty, honor, and morality, and who demonstrate professionalism and an assiduous approach to the study of criminal justice.

### NATHAN HALE AWARD

## Alaina Hayman | Christopher Hungerford

The Nathan Hale Award is presented to two students who best exemplify the courageous spirit, character, and dedication of our nation's first spy. At only 21 years old and facing execution by the British, Nathan Hale boldly declared, "I only regret that I have but one life to give for my country."

### THE PATRICK HENRY AWARD

# Leadership | Clint Hamilton, Elizabeth Lapp Competition | Karsyn Keener

The Patrick Henry Leadership and Competition awards are given annually to Helms seniors who have received acceptance to ABA-accredited law schools. The awards are designed to honor students demonstrating high academic achievement, leadership within the legal studies arena, and dedication to the principles of life, liberty, duty, and honor, all while exhibiting the fruit of a love for Christ.

## DEAN'S LEADERSHIP AWARD

# Oliver Berg | Christopher Eiklor | Wyatt Hart | Peyton Hedrick | Nicholas Hornung | Kristopher Norwood | Abigail Taylor

Recipients of this award are recognized for their significant contributions to the Helms School and student body through their principled leadership.

## **DEAN'S COUNCIL GRADUATES**

# Clint Hamilton | William Henrichs | Karsyn Keener | Hannah Lankford | Elizabeth Lapp | Malachi Maness | Hannah Robillard | Nathan Unruh

The Dean's Council Graduates are recognized for their leadership, service, and statesmanship to the Helms School of Government.

## **OUTSTANDING SERVICE AWARD**

### **Madison Carroll**

The Outstanding Service Award is given to a student who exemplifies exceptional professionalism, proficiency, and dedication to Liberty University and the Helms School of Government.

## **OUTSTANDING GRADUATE AWARD**

Outstanding Graduate Student Master of Arts in Public Policy | **David Vander Pluym**Outstanding Graduate Student Master of Science in Criminal Justice | **Brian Bailey** 

### ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Undergraduate Students

Christopher Eiklor, Katrina Fabbro, Sierra Fischer, Jennie Haag, Christopher Hungerford, Carmen Jones, Karsyn Keener, Hannah Lankford, Ruben Marquez, Richard Matthews, Jerry Miller, Karan Mirchandani, Matthew Morales, Grace Pearson, Arleis Perez, Hannah Robillard, Scott Russell, Karissa Sears, David Spencer, Richard Wood

## Graduate Students

# Brian Bailey, David Dobzynski, Jeffrey Lauderbaugh, Keith Neumer, Geraldine Riera, David Vander Pluym, Ruth Ward, Todd Wood, Richard Wood

The Academic Achievement Award is given to students who achieve a 4.0 GPA and display intellect, passion, and dedication to excellence in their fields of study.