Full Athletic Schedule

    Team News

    June 10, 2020 Lynchburg, Va. RSS |

    Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award

    As part of its wrap-up coverage of the 2019-20 athletics season, LibertyFlames.com will run a series of interviews with the nominees for the 2020 Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award.

    In 1975, the Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award was established to honor the top senior student-athlete at Liberty University who best exemplifies the standards and lives of both of these great Christian men.� Rock Royer was Liberty’s first football coach in 1973.� Mac Rivera was a member of Liberty’s basketball team from 1972 until 1975.� Both Rock Royer and Mac Rivera tragically died at a young age.

    This award encompasses more than just athletic ability.� It recognizes the Liberty University senior student-athlete who has maintained an exemplary testimony on the playing field, in the classroom and among the student body.

    Today, we continue this series by talking with Anna Gragg, a senior member of Liberty’s volleyball team who hails from Missoula, Mont.

    Gragg was a four-time all-conference selection, just the fourth player in program history with four all-conference awards. She closed her career with her best season in 2019, setting new career highs in block assists (103), total blocks (118) and hitting percentage (.378), being named to the ASUN All-Conference first team. The middle blocker scored her 1,000th career kill on Dec. 7, 2019 in Liberty’s 3-2 win over La Salle, the first postseason win in program history.

    She holds Liberty’s program single-season rally-scoring record for hitting percentage (.378 in 2019), and set a Liberty freshman record with 108 blocks in 2016. Gragg is the first player in program history with four 100-block seasons. The Montana native ended her career ranked fourth all-time at Liberty with 431 career blocks and 17th with 1,026 career kills. Her .336 career hitting percentage is the highest by any four-year player in Liberty’s rally-scoring history (starting in 2001).

    Gragg graduated this spring with a major in camp and outdoor adventure leadership. She was a three-year member of the conference honor roll.

    The winner of the 2020 Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award will be announced on LibertyFlames.com this Friday, June 12.

    2020 Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award Interviews
    June 5 – Amber Bishop (Softball)
    June 6 – Tanner (Ealum) Hart (Women’s Track & Field)
    June 9�- Ben Highfill (Baseball)
    June 10 – Gabrielle Farrell (Women’s Soccer)