Full Athletic Schedule

    Team News

    November 17, 2021 Lynchburg, Va. RSS |

    Official ASUN Release

    Liberty outside hitter Kate Phillips was named to the ASUN All-Freshman Team, as announced today by the league office.

    The postseason ASUN honors were nominated and voted on by the conference’s 12 head coaches.

    Phillips is the fourth ASUN All-Freshman Team honoree for Liberty since joining the ASUN in 2018. Current teammates Lilly Kruse (2018), Lydia Burts (2021 Spring) and Trinity Watts (2021 Spring) have all received ASUN All-Freshman Team honors during their careers.

    A native of Encinitas, Calif., Phillips burst onto the scene after missing all of nonconference play. She scored 17 kills in the ASUN opener against Bellarmine, the most kills by a Liberty player in her first career match in the rally-scoring era. Phillips was named ASUN Freshman of the Week on Sept. 27 after her impressive premiere weekend. She currently ranks third among all ASUN freshmen in kills per set (2.57) and she is tied for the team lead with six double-doubles.

    Phillips is second on the team with eight double-digit kills matches, all in ASUN play. She was the first Liberty freshman since 2020 to record a double-double in her first career match. Phillips recorded a career-high 20 kills at Stetson on Oct. 8. She hit .526 with 11 kills against Central Arkansas on Oct. 22, and recorded 18 kills and 17 digs against Stetson on Nov. 7.

    The Lady Flames (10-13) finished 6-10 in ASUN play this season and will serve as the No. 5 East Division seed in this week’s ASUN Volleyball Championship. Liberty takes on host No. 1 East Division FGCU on Thursday at 7 p.m. in Fort Myers, Fla. In a quarterfinal match.

    2021 Fall ASUN Conference Volleyball Award Winners
    First Team All-Conference
    *Erin Shomaker# – OH, So., FGCU
    Chelsey Lockey^ – S, Jr., FGCU
    Lena Kindermann – OH, Sr., Jacksonville State
    Lauren Chastang% – OH, Sr., Kennesaw State
    Emma Schurfranz# – So., RS, Kennesaw State
    Dariana Hollingsworth-Santana – Sr., OH, North Florida
    Rocio Moro# – Libero, So., North Florida

    Second Team All-Conference
    Juliana Lentz – MB, So., FGCU
    Dana Axner% – Libero, Jr., FGCU
    Zoe Gonzales – OH, Jr., Jacksonville State
    Lexie Libs – S, Sr., Jacksonville State
    Katie Montgomery – MB, Sr., Jacksonville State
    Meg Mersman# – Fr., MB, Lipscomb
    Elena Djokovic # – So., OH, Stetson

    All-Freshman Team
    *Nyah Molina – S, Stetson
    *Addi Pelham – RS, Lipscomb
    Anna Purichia – OH, Eastern Kentucky
    Skylar English – OH, FGCU
    Kate Phillips – OH, Liberty
    Katy Floyd – OH, North Alabama
    Annie Antar – S, North Florida

    * – Denotes unanimous selection
    # – Denotes a two-time selection to the All-Conference Team
    ^ – Denotes a three-time selection to the All-Conference Team
    % – Denotes a four-time selection to the All-Conference Team

    All-Academic Team
    Elena Djokovic – Jr., Stetson
    Dana Axner# – Sr., FGCU
    Erin Shomakrer – Jr., FGCU
    Lena Kindermann – Sr., Jacksonville State
    Lexie Libs – Sr., Jacksonville State
    Bri Becerra – Sr., Kennesaw State
    Maggie Sullivan – Jr., North Alabama

    # – denotes a two-time selection to the All-Academic Team

    Player of the Year
    Erin Shomaker – OH, So., FGCU

    Defensive Player of the Year
    Rocio Moro – L, So., North Florida

    Setter of the Year
    Lexie Libs – Sr., Jacksonville State

    Freshman of the Year
    Nyah Molina – S, Stetson


    Coach of the Year

    Matt Botsford – FGCU


    Scholar Athlete of the Year

    Elena Djokovic – Jr., Stetson