Full Athletic Schedule

    Team News

    April 21, 2022 Lynchburg, Va. RSS |

    ASUN All-Conference Team
    ASUN All-Academic Team

    Prior to the start of this weekend’s ASUN Men’s Tennis Championship, the Liberty Flames men’s tennis squad featured four honorees in the 2022 ASUN Conference Men’s Tennis Postseason Honors & Awards.

    No. 67-ranked Liberty collected two major awards in the listing – ASUN Doubles Pair of the Year Nicaise Muamba and Rafael Marques Da Silva and ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year Josh Wilson. Additionally, Wilson earned a spot on the ASUN All-Conference first team, while Muamba and Marques Da Silva were both second team all-conference selections. Finally, both Wilson and Christiaan Worst were honored on the ASUN All-Academic team for their efforts in the classroom.

    Liberty, FGCU and North Florida led the league with three all-conference honorees apiece, followed by Kennesaw State (2), Stetson (1) and Bellarmine (1).

    No. 3 seed Liberty (10-10) will face No. 6 seed Jacksonville State (8-9) in tomorrow’s ASUN Championship quarterfinals. First serve between the Flames and Gamecocks is 5 p.m. at the FGCU Tennis Complex in Fort Myers, Fla.

    Nicaise Muamba/Rafael Marques Da Silva
    Muamba and Marques Da Silva’s award gives Liberty the ASUN Doubles Pair of the Year in back-to-back seasons. In 2021, Deji Thomas-Smith and Christiaan Worst received the same recognition.

    Muamba and Marques Da Silva sport a 9-5 record in spring doubles contests, and the duo is 6-1 in the No. 1 position. The pairing was 5-1 in ASUN regular season matches and collected three victories in the No. 2 slot as well.

    Muamba and Marques Da Silva earned key wins over opponents from North Florida and Stetson last weekend to help the Flames win their last two matches and get the No. 3 seed for the ASUN Tournament. Between dual match and tournament play, the duo is 12-5 this season. Muamba and Marques Da Silva are 29-11 all-time as a pairing in their time at Liberty.

    Josh Wilson
    Wilson is the ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year for a second straight year. He is currently maintaining a 4.0 GPA while pursuing a master’s degree in finance (MBA). The Flames have received the ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year award in all three full seasons in which they have been in the league. Wilson’s former teammate, Chase Burton, received ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors in Liberty’s inaugural year in the ASUN in 2019.

    This is Wilson’s second career ASUN All-Conference first team honor and third all-conference award of his career (second team in 2021).

    The native of Reigate, United Kingdom is 12-5 in spring singles contests and has eight doubles victories. Wilson earned ASUN Player of the Week honors on March 8, his sixth career ASUN Player of the Week award. The junior is 6-1 since moving into the No. 1 slot in the lineup on March 25 and closed the regular season with a 6-1 record in ASUN matches. Between fall and spring matches, Wilson is 27-10 in singles and is one win away from match the school record of 28 wins, set by Sam Matheson in 2016.

    In doubles, Wilson and current partner Worst hold a 6-1 mark in the No. 3 slot since joining forces on March 20.

    Nicaise Muamba
    Muamba, along with Wilson, is one of two three-time All-ASUN honorees in program history. The 2019 and 2021 ASUN Player of the Year, Muamba has 10 total singles victories during his senior campaign, this spring. Five of those wins have come in the No. 1 slot, and the other five are at No. 2 singles, where he holds a 5-2 mark.

    Muamba and Marques Da Silva, this year’s ASUN Doubles Pair of the Year, have nine wins and were 5-1 in ASUN regular season competition.

    Rafael Marques Da Silva
    Marques Da Silva (second team) earns his second career all-conference honor after being named to the first team a season ago. The sophomore from São Paulo, Brazil is tied for second on the squad with nine doubles wins this spring, all with Muamba.

    In singles, he finished the regular season with a 6-2 ASUN mark and has 10 total wins in spring play. Marques Da Silva has nine of those victories in the No. 3 slot and one in the No. 2 position.

    Christiaan Worst
    Worst carries a 3.94 GPA as a business administration – finance major. The native of Pretoria, South Africa is also a three-time ITA Scholar-Athlete and ASUN Academic Honor Roll recipient.

    On the court, Worst is the team leader with 14 spring singles victories. The junior is 3-0 in the No. 3 slot in the lineup and 11-5 in the No. 4 position and has won eight straight matches heading into postseason play. Worst picked up his first ranked win as a Flame during the final weekend of regular season play, defeating No. 68 Dominik Barton of UNF in straight sets, 6-2, 7-6 (7). In doubles, Worst leads the squad with 10 wins this spring and has a 6-1 record in the No. 3 position with current partner Wilson.

    2022 ASUN Conference Men’s Tennis Postseason Honors & Awards

    Player of the Year: Magnus Johnson, FGCU
    Doubles Pair of the Year: Nicaise Muamba & Rafael Marques Da Silva, Liberty
    Freshman of the Year: Tristan Dumas, Stetson
    Coach of the Year: Matt Emery Kennesaw State

    ASUN First Team All-Conference
    *Magnus Johnson, FGCU, Fr.
    Josh Wilson, Liberty, Jr.
    Raul Garcia, Kennesaw State, So.
    Matthew Terry, Kennesaw State, Gr.
    Jonas Hartenstein, North Florida, So.
    Diogo Marques, Stetson, Sr.

    ASUN Second Team All-Conference
    Cole Groetsch, Bellarmine, Sr.
    Marcelo Sepulveda, FGCU, So.
    Randy Wilson, FGCU, R-So.
    Rafael Marques Da Silva, Liberty, So.
    Nicaise Muamba, Liberty, Sr.
    Matt Carroll, North Florida, Jr.
    Nilo Duarte, North Florida, Sr.

    ASUN All-Freshman Team
    *Tristan Dumas, Stetson
    Hugo Salmeron, Kennesaw State
    Jack Batchelor, Bellarmine
    Vicente Arbelaez, Jacksonville State
    Ervin Eminefendic, Stetson
    Sami Ozzor, Stetson

    * – Denotes a unanimous selection
    ** – A tie in voting resulted in a seven-person second team

    2022 ASUN Conference Men’s Tennis All-Academic Team
    Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Josh Wilson, Liberty

    2022 ASUN Conference All-Academic Team
    Josh Wilson, Liberty, Jr.
    Magnus Johnson, FGCU, R-So.
    Christiaan Worst, Liberty, Jr.
    Sam Fischer, Lipscomb, Gr.
    Jonas Hartenstein, North Florida, So.
    Tim Gennes, Stetson, Sr.