Full Athletic Schedule

    Team News

    April 27, 2021 Lynchburg, Va. RSS |

    For the second time in his career, Liberty’s Ervin Chang has been named the ASUN Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

    Chang was an unanimous selection to the 2021 ASUN Men’s Golf All-Academic team, joining four other upperclassmen from four other conference institutions. The team was announced earlier today by the league office.

    Chang was joined on the 2021 ASUN Men’s Golf All-Academic team by Bellarmine’s Shawn DeWeese, Jacksonville’s Michael Sakene, North Alabama’s Frankie Wade and North Florida’s Michael Mattiace.

    Chang was also named the ASUN Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2019. He is making his third-straight appearance on the ASUN Men’s Golf All-Academic team.

    The native of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia posted a pair of top-10 finishes in six events during the 2021 season. Has played 5-of-15 rounds at par or better (33.3 percent) this year and ranks third on the roster with a 71.67 scoring average.

    Chang matched his career low round with a 7-under par 63 at the Gator Invitational on Feb. 13, allowing him to finish the event tied for seventh place with a 7-under par 203 (69-63-71).

    The senior finished tied for seventh place at the ASUN Championship, carding a 3-under par 210 (69-74-67) and led the Flames during the third round with a 4-under par 67.

    After winning the ASUN Conference title, Chang and the Flames are currently awaiting information about their seeding and placement for the 2021 NCAA Regionals.

    Liberty, who will be making its ninth NCAA Regional appearance in 10 seasons, will learn its NCAA Regional destination during the NCAA Men's Golf Selection Show that will air on the Golf Channel at 2 p.m. on May 5.

    2021 ASUN Men’s Golf All-Academic Team
    Ervin Chang, Liberty, Sr. * #
    Shawn DeWeese, Bellarmine, Sr.
    Michael Sakane, Jacksonville, Jr.
    Frankie Wade, North Alabama, Jr.
    Michael Mattiace, North Florida, Gr. #
    * – denotes unanimous selection
    # – denotes a three-time selection