Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Douglas Tabbed ECAC Volleyball All-Star

December 12, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Caroline Douglas was named an ECAC Division I Volleyball All-Star on Wednesday.

Caroline Douglas was named an ECAC Division I Volleyball All-Star on Wednesday.

Complete Release

Liberty redshirt freshman outside hitter added to her collection of awards on Wednesday, being named to the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division I Volleyball All-Star team.

The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) is the nation's largest athletic conference, consisting of 88 Division I schools primarily along the East Coast. Along with the Big South, the ECAC also features members from such conferences as the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), BIG EAST, the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) and the Ivy League.

A native of Greenville, N.C., Douglas was previously named AVCA honorable mention All-East Region. She was tabbed Big South Player of the Year and Big South Freshman of the Year this season. Douglas helped the Lady Flames claim their seventh Big South tournament title, earning All-Tournament honors in the process.

Douglas led the Big South in kills, averaging 3.69 kills per set. She recorded 26 kills at High Point, tying for the most by a Big South player this season. Douglas ended the season by registering a match-high 12 kills during Liberty's NCAA Women's Volleyball Championship first round match at No. 8 seed Minnesota.

Liberty (25-8) won its second straight conference tournament title, fourth in the last six seasons and seventh overall in 2012. The Lady Flames have now won the Big South regular-season title six straight years, have posted six straight 20-win seasons, and appeared in the conference title match six years in a row.

2012 ECAC Division I Volleyball All-Star Team
Taylor Akana, Siena, OH, Jr.
Caroline Douglas, Liberty, OH, R-Fr.
Kari Honomichi, Niagara, OH, Sr.
Ndidi Ibe, UMES, MB, Sr.
Ariana Makus, Army, OH, Sr.
Shelbey Manthorpe, Seton Hall, S, So.
Lydia Rudnick, Princeton, OH, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Ariana Mankus, Army, OH, Sr.
Rookie of the Year: Melissa Rigo, Stony Brook, OH