Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Seeded No. 1 in 2012 NorPac Tournament

October 28, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty enters the NorPac tournament as the No. 1 seed in the east.

Liberty enters the NorPac tournament as the No. 1 seed in the east.

Competing in its first season in the NorPac Conference, the Liberty Lady Flames field hockey team has been tabbed a No. 1 seed for the 2012 NorPac Tournament in Farmville, Va.

Liberty finished the regular season as the NorPac East Division champion, with a conference mark of 7-1 and an overall record of 14-5. The Lady Flames won a program-record six consecutive games to end the year.

Liberty will open the tournament against the fourth seed from the West Division, Pacific (1-5 NorPac), Thursday at 1:30 p.m. This will be the first-ever meeting between the Lady Flames and the Tigers.

Stanford captured the West Division title with a perfect 6-0 record in conference play. The Cardinal garnered the other No. 1 seed and will play the fourth-seeded Radford Highlanders (2-6 NorPac) on Thursday in the opening round.

Longwood (6-2 NorPac) finished as the second seed in the East, while Davidson (5-3 NorPac) will enter the tournament as the number three seed from the East. In the West, UC Davis (3-3 NorPac) garnered the No. 2 seed and defending tournament champion California (2-4 NorPac) is the No. 3 seed.

The tournament begins on Thursday at 11 a.m. and will conclude with the championship game on Saturday at 1:30 p.m.

The NorPac Tournament champion will host an NCAA Tournament play-in game on Nov. 6 against the winner of the Mid-American Conference.

2012 NorPac Tournament Schedule (All times EST)
Hosted by Longwood in Farmville, Va.
Thursday, Nov. 1
Game 1:  No. 2W UC Davis vs. No. 3E Davidson, 11 a.m.
Game 2:  No. 1E Liberty vs. No. 4W Pacific, 1:30 p.m.
Game 3:  No. 1W Stanford vs. No. 4E Radford, 4 p.m.
Game 4:  No. 2E Longwood vs. No. 3W California, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 2
Game 5:  Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser (consolation), 11 a.m.
Game 6:  Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (semifinals), 1:30 p.m.
Game 7:  Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (semifinals), 4 p.m.
Game 8:  Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser (consolation), 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 3
Game 9:  Game 6 loser vs. Game 7 loser (Third Place), 11 a.m.
Game 10:  Game 6 winner vs. Game 7 winner (Championship), 1:30 p.m.