Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

3 Liberty Teams Win BSC Sportsmanship Awards

August 15, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
3 Liberty Teams Win BSC Sportsmanship Awards

Liberty's men's golf, men's outdoor track & field and women's outdoor track & field teams have all won Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards for the 2012 season, as voted upon by the conference's student-athletes.

Head coach Jeff Thomas' men's golf team has now won or shared this honor for five consecutive years. The Flames also enjoyed the most successful season in program history, winning the Big South and NCAA Greensboro Regional titles before finishing 10th at the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship.

This is the second straight season and fourth time overall that head coach Brant Tolsma's men's outdoor track & field squad has garnered the Big South Team Sportsmanship Award. On the track, the Flames captured their sixth Big South team title in a row.

The Liberty women's outdoor track & field also won its fourth Big South Team Sportsmanship Award and first since 2010. Tolsma's Lady Flames finished as the Big South runners-up, before placing seventh at the ECAC Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championship.

Liberty finished the 2011-12 athletic year with a conference-best seven Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards, also including honors by the men's basketball, men's soccer, women's soccer and women's cross country squads. The Flames have won 39 total Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards since the award's inception in 2005-06, the most of any conference member.

With the 2011-12 season complete, the Big South Conference's Institutional Sportsmanship Award will be announced the week of Aug. 20. An institution's sport winners count toward the Institution Sportsmanship Award and the winner is determined on a system recognizing the highest percentage of the maximum possible points each institution is capable of achieving in that year. The institution with the highest percentage will win the award. VMI has won the Big South's Institutional Sportsmanship Award all six years of the award's history.