Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Crisante Named ECAC Softball All-Star

June 28, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Meredith Crisante was named to the ECAC Division I Softball All-Star team.

Meredith Crisante was named to the ECAC Division I Softball All-Star team.

Complete ECAC Release

Liberty outfielder Meredith Crisante has been named to the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division I Softball All-Star second team. The team was selected through voting by coaches within the ECAC.

Crisante is the first Lady Flame honored on the ECAC All-Star softball team since 1997, when Shannon Tanski was named to the first team and Libi Cook received second-team honors. 

The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) is the nation's largest athletic conference, consisting of 88 Division I schools primarily along the East Coast. Along with the Big South, the ECAC also features members from such conferences as the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), BIG EAST, the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) and the Ivy League. A total of 11 athletics conferences are represented on this year's softball all-star team.

A native of Huntington, W.Va., Crisante was a first team All-Big South selection this season. She also was named to the VaSID All-State second team. Crisante batted .295 and led the team with nine home runs, 15 stolen bases, 85 total bases and a .512 slugging percentage. During conference play, she led the Big South with six home runs and 44 total bases. She was tabbed Big South Player of the Week on Feb. 27.

Jennifer Colquhon of Lehigh, the Patriot League Player of the Year, was named ECAC Softball Player of the Year for leading the Mountain Hawks to a 40-19 record and an NCAA regional berth.

Massachusetts received three out of the four major ECAC softball awards after posting a 38-13 record and qualifying for the NCAA Softball Championship. UMass senior Sara Plourde was tabbed Pitcher of the Year, while teammate Quianna Diaz-Patterson earned Rookie of the Year distinction. Head coach Elaine Sortino received Coach of the Year accolades, leading the team to its 23rd A-10 championship.

2012 ECAC Division I Softball All-Stars

First Team
C: Kacee Cox, Sr., St. John's (BIG EAST)
1B: Charlise Castro, So., Albany (America East)
2B: Bernadette Moran, Sr., Saint Joseph's (Atlantic-10)
SS: Jennifer Colquhon, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)
3B: Shannon Jones, Jr., Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
OF: Cyndil Matthew, Jr., Massachusetts (Atlantic-10)
OF: Vangie Galindo, Sr., Maryland (Atlantic Coast Conference)
OF: Jordan Reid, Sr., Delaware State (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)
DP: Kaitie Schumacher, So., Monmouth (Northeast Conference)
UT: Alyssa Maiese, R-Sr., Iona (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
P: Sara Plourde, Sr., Massachusetts (Atlantic-10)
P: Olivia Galati, Jr., Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)

Second Team
C: Lauren Liseth, So., Fairfield (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
1B: Kate Strobel, Sr., Brown (Ivy League)
2B: Stephanie Watts, Sr., Syracuse (Big East)
SS: Ashley Burnham, Sr., James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)
3B: Stephanie Harlquist, Sr., Colgate (Patriot League)
OF: Suzanne Karath, Sr., Stony Brook (America East)
OF: Lindsay Bright, Sr., Fordham (Atlantic-10)
*OF: Meredith Crisante, Sr., Liberty (Big South)
*OF: Audra Wood, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)
DP: Jessika-Jo Sandrini, So., Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
UT: Katie Ferguson, Sr., Maryland-Baltimore County (America East)
P: Paige Arnold, Sr., Coppin State (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)
P: Rachel Brown, Sr., Harvard (Ivy League)

* Denotes a tie in the voting to create an extra All-Star spot for the position

Player of the Year: Jennifer Colquhon, SS, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)
Pitcher of the Year: Sara Plourde, Sr., Massachusetts (Atlantic-10 Conference)
Rookie of the Year: Quianna Diaz-Patterson, DP, Fr., Massachusetts (Atlantic-10 Conference)
Coach of the Year: Elaine Sortino, Massachusetts (Atlantic-10 Conference)