Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Fogg and Aikens Named to CFPA Watch List

June 12, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Walt Aikens (pictured) and Kevin Fogg have been named to the College Football Performance Award defensive backs preseason watch list.

Walt Aikens (pictured) and Kevin Fogg have been named to the College Football Performance Award defensive backs preseason watch list.

Liberty's Kevin Fogg and Walt Aikens are two of 40 players who have been named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) preseason defensive back watch list for the upcoming 2012 season.

Fogg, along with North Dakota State's Marcus Williams, were two returning athletes that were honored by the CFPA last year. In 2011, Fogg was named the CFPA Elite Kickoff Return Specialist after leading the country with three touchdown returns.

Defensively, Fogg finished the 2011 season by more than doubling his previous two seasons' tackles total. Fogg ranked seventh on the team with 45 stops and led the program with 33 solo tackles. He also tied for the team lead with four pass breakups and shared team high interception honors with Aikens after both players recorded three picks.

In his first season with the program, Aikens ranked fourth on the team with 49 tackles, including 31 solo stops. Beside his three interceptions, Aikens also led the team with three forced fumbles and had two sacks.

The CFPA watch list is a rough guide, highlighting returning players with strong individual performances. All players are eligible for recognition at their respective positions and players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration for weekly, annual or career awards.

2012 College Football Performance Award
Defensive Back Preseason Watch List

(Listed Alphabetically by school name)
Saeed Lee, Alabama State
Kejuan Riley, Alabama State
Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State
Ryan Shaw, Arkansas Pine-Bluff
A.J. Cruz, Brown
Steth Monroe, Campbell
Jestin Love, Central Arkansas
Charles James, Charleston Southern
D.J. Key, Chattanooga
Mike Armiento, Colgate
Travis Hawkins, Delaware
Serge Kona, Duquesne
Devontae Johnson, Florida A&M
Jeremy Moore, Georgetown
Donovan Henley, Idaho State
Pierre Warren, Jacksonville State
Darius Safford, Lafayette
Bryan Andrews, Lehigh
Walt Aikens, Liberty
Kevin Fogg, Liberty

Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State
Pat Gray, Monmouth
Kenneth Ridley, Morgan State
Chris Houston, New Hampshire
Colten Heagle, North Dakota State
Marcus Williams, North Dakota State
Garrett Scott, Nothern Iowa
Jamaal White, Northwestern State
Eriq Lewis, Old Dominion
Alvin Hines II, Samford
Dax Swanson, Sam Houston State
Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State
Darius Drummond, South Carolina State
Winston Wright, South Dakota State
Tylor Brock, Southeast Missouri
Robert Alford, Southeastern Louisiana
Davonte Anderson, Stony Brook
Torian Phillips, Wagner
Kieron James, Western Illinois
B.W. Webb, William & Mary