Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Karlsson Earns Fourth All-Conference Honor

April 15, 2012  Ninety Six, S.C.  RSS
|   Share
Robert Karlsson is Liberty's first-ever four-time Big South all-conference golfer.

Robert Karlsson is Liberty's first-ever four-time Big South all-conference golfer.

Senior Robert Karlsson became the first golfer in program history to earn Big South all-conference honors all four years of his playing career, when the league announced this year's honorees on Sunday night.

On the eve of the 2012 Big South Men's Golf Championship, the Big South Conference office released the first half of this year's Big South all-conference team. The second half of the team will be determined by a player's finish during the next three days of championship play at The Patriot Golf Club.

Karlsson was joined on a senior-laden squad all-conference team by three other seniors, including Gardner-Webb's Kristopher Gray, Charleston Southern's Jacobo Pastor and Vaita Guillaume of Campbell. The only non-senior on the list was Sebastian Soderberg, a junior from Coastal Carolina.

With the all-conference distinction, Karlsson joins a rare group of four-time league honors, including current PGA Tour member Dustin Johnson.

Only six other golfers in league history have been named Big South all-conference each of their four years: Campbell's Duane Bock [1988-91], Winthrop's Paul Tomlinson [1990-94], Winthrop's Kevin Pendley [1995-98], Coastal Carolina's Brad Hastings [1997-00], Winthrop's Matt Johnson [2001-04] and Coastal Carolina's Dustin Johnson [2004-07].

Karlsson, the Big South's top ranked individual golfer at No. 38 in the latest Golfweek rankings, leads the Flames with a 71.9 stroke average this year.

The Kalmar, Sweden, native has posted eight Top 10 finishes in 10 events this season, including six Top 5 finishes. A total of 13 of his 28 rounds have been played at par or better throughout the course of the 2011-12 season.

Karlsson will be looking for his first individual victory of the season this week, when he returns to the familiar The Patriot Golf Club.

He holds a 72.67 career stroke average at the venue, that has hosted the conference's championship seven out of the last eight years. He finished tied for third with a two-under par 214 (73-71-70) at last year's event, and captured medalist honors in 2010 with a seven-under par 209 (73-70-66).

Liberty's Max McKay was also honored, as he was named to the Big South All-Academic squad.

The Big South will announce the second half of the all-conference team, plus the league's annual major award winners during the post championship award ceremony (Golfer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year).

2012 Big South Conference Men's Golf Award Winners

All-Conference Team
Kristopher Gray, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Vaita Guillaume, Sr., Campbell
Robert Karlsson, Sr., Liberty
Jacobo Pastor, Sr., Charleston Southern
Sebastian Soderberg, Jr., Coastal Carolina
All-Academic Team
Mitch Gray, Sr., Campbell
David Denlinger, Jr., Charleston Southern
Sebastian Soderberg, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Kristopher Gray, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Chase Wilson, Jr., High Point
Max McKay, Jr., Liberty
Matt Sizemore, Jr., Presbyterian College
Callum Tarren, So., Radford
Damon Postal, So., Winthrop