Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Three Flames Named to VaSID All-State Team

January 19, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Uriah Bentick, Phillip Aseweh and Darren Ammo were named to the VaSID All-State team.

Uriah Bentick, Phillip Aseweh and Darren Ammo were named to the VaSID All-State team.

Lynchburg, Va. – The 2011 Big South Conference Champion Liberty Flames have placed three players on the VaSID All-State men's soccer team.

Liberty midfielder Phillip Aseweh and defender Uriah Bentick were selected to the VaSID All-State first team, while forward Darren Amoo was named to the team for the third consecutive year with a second team selection.

The team is conducted by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID).  The all-state team honors the best Division I men's soccer players in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Named to the squad's first team for the second straight year, Aseweh was selected to the Big South all-conference first team for the second consecutive year and earned inclusion on the All-South Atlantic region team in 2011. The senior was selected in the third round of the MSL Supplemental Draft on Tuesday by the Houston Dynamo.

The midfielder started all 20 games for the Flames this season, compiling a team-leading 22 points on seven goals and eight assists. He finished the year tied for the lead in assists and fourth in points in the Big South. 

During the season, Aseweh was named the Disney Soccer/NSCAA National Player of the Week and Big South Attacking Player of the Week for Sept. 21.  He also earned selection to the SoccerAmerica Team of the Week for the same week. During the prior seven days, the midfielder scored three goals and recorded an assist, as Liberty defeated No. 10 Virginia, 2-0, and Howard, 4-0.

In addition, the Navrongo, Ghana native became the second Liberty men's soccer player in program history to be named to the prestigious Capital One Men's Soccer Academic All-America University Division national team, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Bentick was also named to all-state first team for the second straight year. The defender was selected to his second consecutive All-South Atlantic region and Big South all-conference first team this past year.

The junior had his best offensive year as a Flame, compiling 12 points with four goals and four assists in 19 games this past season. The point total is a career-high for the defender. He posted a point in three consecutive games on two different occasions during the season.

Bentick, a native of Port of Spain, Trinidad, was named Big South Defensive Player of the Week for Sept. 21. He was a member of Liberty's defensive unit which allowed 0.95 goals per game and recorded a Big South-leading nine shutouts.

Amoo received a second team selection and his third consecutive VaSID All-State mention. The forward was selected in the third round of the MSL Supplemental Draft on Tuesday by the Columbus Crew.

Amoo became Liberty's all-time leading goal scorer during his final year as a Flame this past fall.  The forward scored seven goals in 18 contests in 2011 to finish his career with 37 goals, eclipsing the previous mark of 36 by James Wright (1992-1994) and Darryl Roberts (2002-06).

After posting 15 points in 2011, he also finished his career third on the school's career points list with 83 points.

The Accra, Ghana native, became the fourth player in program history to be named to the Big South all-conference first team three times during his career. The forward joins Ben Strawbridge (1999-01), current Liberty assistant men's soccer coach Dean Short (1999-01) and Osei Telesford (2003, 2005-06). In addition, he earned All-South Atlantic Region second team honors in 2009 and 2010.

2012 VaSID Men's Soccer University Division Awards

Player of the Year
– Yannick Smith, Old Dominion
Rookie of the Year – Juan Monge Solano, VCU
Coach of the Year – Tom Martin, James Madison

VaSID First-Team All-State
F – Will Bates, Virginia
F – Patrick Innes, James Madison
F – Yannick Smith, Old Dominion
MF – Nicolas Abrigo, William and Mary
MF – Gideon Asante, Old Dominion
MF – Phillip Aseweh, Liberty
MF – Paul Wyatt, James Madison
D – Uriah Bentick, Liberty
D – Hunter Jumper, Virginia
D – Juan Monge Solano, VCU
GK – Justin Epperson, James Madison 

VaSID Second-Team All-State
F – Darren Amoo, Liberty

F – Iyiola Awosika, Radford
F – Tim Hopkinson, Old Dominion
F – Jason Johnson, VCU
MF – Luis Grande, Radford
MF – Brian Span, Virginia
MF – Nick Surkamp, Longwood
D – Jason Gannon, James Madison
D – Will Smith, William and Mary
D – Tommy Webb, Old Dominion
GK – Victor Francoz, Old Dominion