Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Three Named to Final FCS All-America Team

January 24, 2011  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Mike Brown was one of three Liberty football players named to the College Sporting News  Sweet 63 All-America team.

Mike Brown was one of three Liberty football players named to the College Sporting News Sweet 63 All-America team.

Mike Brown, Chris Summers and Matt Bevins were each named to the College Sporting News Sweet 63 All-America team, as the organization announced the final FCS All-America team for the 2010 season late last week.

The College Sporting News All-America team differs from all other national FCS squads, as it is designed like an actual team that could take the field and play in a game. The squad has everything from quarterbacks, running backs, wide receivers and a full defense to a complete special teams unit that includes a long snapper.

The 2010 squad is the first year that the College Sporting News All-America team has featured 63 players, a number that signifies the amount of scholarships available to teams at the FCS level.

Liberty had three of the four Big South football players named to the All-America team. Brown, Summers and Bevins were joined by Coastal Carolina long snapper Daniel Bonifas.

Brown, a two-time Big South Offensive Player of the Year, finished his first full season under center by throwing for 2,956 yards and 23 touchdowns, while rushing for 854 yards and nine touchdowns.

Brown was a Walter Payton Award candidate (national player of the year) and a finalist for the Dudley Award (top Division I football player in Virginia). He finished the year ranked No. 1 in the country in total offense (346.4/game), No. 4 in points responsible for (17.45/game), No. 7 in passing efficiency (149.63) and No. 8 in passing yards per game (268.7).

Summers set new program standards by finishing the year with 1,081 receiving yards and 15 touchdown receptions. The first-team Sports Network and Phil Steele Postseason All-American finished the year ranked No. 2 nationally in total receiving touchdowns, No. 5 in receiving yards per game (108.1), No. 8 in total receiving yards and No. 8 in scoring (9.0/game).

Bevins, who is making his second-straight appearance on the College Sporting News All-America team, led the country in field goals (1.82/game) for the second year in a row. The junior became the first kicker in program and Big South history to cross the 100-point threshold in consecutive seasons.

After missing four of his first five field goal tries of the year, Bevins closed out the season by hitting 19 of his last 22 attempts, including 12-straight to close out the season. In just three years with the program, Bevins is already Liberty's and the Big South's all-time leader with 54 career field goals.

2010 College Sporting News Sweet 63 All-America Team
Wide Receiver Brandon Kaufman, So., Eastern Washington
Wide Receiver Tysson Poots, Sr., Southern Utah
Wide Receiver Brian Quick, Jr., Appalachian State
Wide Receiver Lito Senatus, Sr., Western Illinois
Wide Receiver Chris Summers, Jr., Liberty
Wide Receiver Raymond Webber, Sr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Tight End Andrew Kennedy, Sr., Columbia
Tight End Shadrae King, Jr., Robert Morris
Tackle David Arkin, Sr., Missouri State
Tackle Ben Ijalana, Sr., Villanova
Tackle Daniel Kilgore, Sr., Appalachian State
Tackle Mike Person, Sr., Montana State
Tackle Will Rackley, Sr., Lehigh
Guard Brent Clouser, Sr., Villanova
Guard Pat Illig, Sr., Wofford
Guard J.C. Oram, Jr., Weber State
Center Sean Middleton, Sr., Southeast Missouri State
Center Ryan McKnight, Sr., South Dakota State
Quarterback Pat Devlin, Sr., Delaware
Quarterback Matthew Johnson, Sr., Bethune-Cookman
Quarterback Denarius McGhee, Fr., Montana State
Quarterback Jeremy Moses, Sr., Stephen F. Austin
Quarterback DeAndre Presley, Jr., Appalachian State
Running Back Nate Eachus, Jr., Colgate
Running Back Henry Harris, Sr., Southeast Missouri State
Running Back Taiwan Jones, Jr., Eastern Washington
Running Back Andrew Pierce, Fr., Delaware
Running Back Frank Warren, Sr., Grambling
Fullback Eric Breitenstein, So., Wofford
All-Purpose Mike Brown, Jr., Liberty
All-Purpose Terrence Holt, Sr., Austin Peay
All-Purpose Matt Szczur, Sr., Villanova

Defensive End Kenneth Charles, Sr., Stephen F. Austin
Defensive End Mario Kurn, Jr., San Diego
Defensive End Brian McNally, Jr., New Hampshire
Defensive End Ameet Pall, Jr., Wofford
Defensive Tackle Kenrick Ellis, Sr., Hampton
Defensive Tackle Martin Parker, Sr., Richmond
Defensive Tackle Brent Russell, So., Georgia Southern
Defensive Tackle Renard Williams, Jr., Eastern Washington
Linebacker David Erby, Sr., South Carolina State
Linebacker Matt Evans, So., New Hampshire
Linebacker DeJuan Fulgham, Sr., Texas Southern
Linebacker Kyle Glazier, Sr., Western Illinois
Linebacker Tyler Holmes, Jr., Massachusetts
Linebacker Marquis Kirkland, Sr., Villanova
Linebacker Eric McBride, Sr., Richmond
Linebacker J.C. Sherritt, Sr., Eastern Washington
Linebacker D.J. Smith, Sr., Appalachian State
Cornerback Moses Ellis, Sr., Prairie View
Cornerback Trumaine Johnson, Jr., Montana
Cornerback Korey Lindsey, Sr., Southern Illinois
Cornerback Anthony Walters, Sr., Delaware
Safety Anthony Bratton, Sr., Delaware
Safety Eugene Clifford, Sr., Tennessee State
Safety Matt Johnson, Jr., Eastern Washington
Safety Mark LeGree, Sr., Appalachian State
Defensive Back/Returnman Jeremy Caldwell, Jr., Eastern Kentucky

Place Kicker Matt Bevins, Jr., Liberty
Punter Charlie Edwards, Jr., Georgia Southern
Long Snapper Daniel Bonifas, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Kickoff Returner Gralyn Crawford, So., Stephen F. Austin
Punt Returner Dontrel Johnson, Jr., Murray State

Offensive Player of the Year
Ben Ijalana, Villanova, Sr., Tackle

Defensive Player of the Year
J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington, Sr., Linebacker

Lineman of the Year
Ben Ijalana, Villanova, Sr., Tackle

Coach of the Year
Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington

Playoff Most Valuable Player
Brandon Kaufman, So., Eastern Washington

Special Teams Player of the Year
Jeremy Caldwell, Jr., Eastern Kentucky

Freshmen of the Year
Denarius McGhee, Montana State
Andrew Pierce, Delaware