Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Bevins and Summers Named AP All-Americans

December 16, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Chris Summers (pictured) and Matt Bevins have been named to the Associated Press All-America team.

Chris Summers (pictured) and Matt Bevins have been named to the Associated Press All-America team.

Liberty's Matt Bevins has added another All-America honor to his season, while teammate Chris Summers received his first All-America honor, with both players being named to the Associated Press All-America team on Wednesday.

Bevins was a second-team selection as a kicker, while Summers was one of two third-team wide receiver selections. On Wednesday, Bevins was named a first-team All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation.

This marks the second year in a row Bevins has been named an AP All-American, after garnering first-team honors in 2009. Both seasons, Bevins led all FCS kickers in the country in field goals, including this year with 20 three-point kicks.

Bevins also was the nation's top-scoring kicker in 2010, as the junior finished the season with 105 points scored. He connected on 45-of-46 point-after attempts on the year, helping him surpass the 100-point mark for the second season in a row.

Summers, who missed the last game of the year against Stony Brook with an injury, ranked No. 2 nationally with a program-record 15 touchdown receptions. He also set the school record with 1,081 receiving yards and ranked No. 5 nationally in receiving yards per game (108.1).

Summers caught at least one touchdown pass in eight out of 10 games this season and posted five 100-yard receiving games.

Both Bevins and Summers, along with other members of Liberty's football team, will have one last chance to earn All-America honors later this month, when the Sports Network releases its All-America listing.


Quarterback — Jeremy Moses, senior, 6-0, 195, Stephen F. Austin
Running Backs — Taiwan Jones, junior, 6-1, 200, Eastern Washington; Nate Eachus, junior, 5-10, 216, Colgate
Linemen — Ben Ijalana, senior, 6-4, 320, Villanova; Curt Porter, senior, 6-7, 290, Jacksonville State; David Arkin, senior, 6-5, 302, Missouri State; Mike Person, senior, 6-5, 295, Montana State; Will Rackley, senior, 6-4, 310, Lehigh
Tight End — Shadrae King, junior, 6-3, 225, Robert Morris
Receivers — Raymond Webber, senior, 6-3, 220, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Tysson Poots, senior, 6-3, 205, Southern Utah
All-Purpose Player — Gralyn Crawford, sophomore, 5-10, 175, Stephen F. Austin
Kicker — Jason Cunningham, junior, 6-1, 175, Montana State

Linemen — Kenrick Ellis, senior, 6-3, 280, Hampton; Jabari Fletcher, senior, 6-3, 265, Appalachian State; Martin Parker, senior, 6-3, 283, Richmond; Brent Russell, sophomore, 6-2, 287, Georgia Southern 
Linebackers — J.C. Sherritt, senior, 5-10, 220, Eastern Washington; Kyle Glazier, senior, 6-1, 220, Western Illinois; Tyler Holmes, junior, 6-0, 220, Massachusetts
Defensive backs — Mark Legree, senior, 6-0, 220, Appalachian State; Trumaine Johnson, junior, 6-3, 197, Montana; Korey Lindsey, senior, 6-0, 190, Southern Illinois; Eugene Clifford, senior, 6-2, 205, Tennessee State.
Punter — David Harrington, junior, 6-3, 185, Idaho State


Quarterback — Deandre Presley, junior, Appalachian State
Running Backs — Henry Harris, senior, Southeast Missouri State; Eric Breitenstein, junior, Wofford
Linemen — Johnny Culbreath, senior, South Carolina State; Ryan McKnight, senior, South Dakota State; Corey Konycki, senior, Robert Morris; Pat Illig, senior, Wofford; Michael Booker, senior, Northwestern State.
Tight End — Andrew Kennedy, senior, Columbia
Receivers — Marcus Harris, senior, Murray State; Aaron Mellette, sophomore, Elon 
All-Purpose Player — Tavoy Moore, junior, Idaho State
KickerMatt Bevins, junior, Liberty

Linemen — Mario Kurn, junior, San Diego; Ameet Pall, junior, Wofford; Dain Taylor, senior, Drake; Zack Nash, junior, Sacramento State
Linebackers — Bryce Smith, senior, Samford; Matt Evans, sophomore, New Hampshire; Eric McBride, senior, Richmond
Defensive Backs - James Vercammen, senior, Dayton; Dino Vasso, senior, New Hampshire; Moses Ellis, senior, Prairie View A&M; Charles James, sophomore, Charleston Southern
Punter — David Miller, senior, William & Mary


Quarterback — Pat Devlin, senior, Delaware
Running Backs — Kyle Minett, senior, South Dakota State; Frank Warren, senior, Grambling State
Linemen — Brett Moore, junior, Georgia Southern; Natiel Curry, junior, Bethune-Cookman; Austin Zlab, senior, Northern Iowa; D.J. Hall, junior, Texas State; Sean Middleton, senior, Southeast Missouri State.
Tight Ends — Dean Rogers, senior, UC Davis
Receivers — Joel Bradford, junior, Chattanooga; Chris Summers, junior, Liberty
All-Purpose Player — Mark Rodgers, junior, Cal Poly
Kicker — Adrian Mora, junior, Georgia Southern

— Devon Langhorst, senior, Dayton; Kenneth Charles, senior, Stephen F. Austin; Andrew Soucy, senior, Eastern Kentucky; Josue Ortiz, senior, Harvard
Linebackers — Jabara Williams, senior, Stephen F. Austin; Dejuan Fulghum, senior, Texas Southern; D.J. Smith, senior, Appalachian State
Defensive Backs — Justin Rogers, senior, Richmond; Anthony Bratton, senior, Delaware; Laron Scott, junior, Georgia Southern; Anthony Walters, senior, Delaware