Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Men's Hoops Tabbed for ESPNU BracketBusters Field

September 30, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty will participate in the 2011 ESPNU BracketbustBusters.

Liberty will participate in the 2011 ESPNU BracketbustBusters.

For the third time in five seasons, the Liberty men's basketball team has been named among a field of 114 teams scheduled to compete for one of the 11 ESPNU BracketBusters nationally-televised games. The event will be held Feb. 18-20, and marks the ninth year of the BracketBusters series.

Liberty will host a BracketBusters contest for the first time in program history. The Flames are looking for their first BracketBusters win, after falling in their previous two meetings in the series, against Niagara (Feb. 17, 2007) and Old Dominion (Feb. 21, 2009), respectively.

"We are looking forward to playing in this year's BracketBusters matchup," commented Liberty Head Men's Basketball Coach Dale Layer. "It is a national event with great exposure for our team. We are honored to be back in the series."

A unique feature in the ESPNU BracketBuster series requires each home team to return a trip to the visiting team the following season. The Flames are 1-1 when hosting previous BracketBusters opponents, defeating the Niagara Purple Eagles inside the Vines Center, 86-81, on Dec. 1, 2007.

The 11 nationally-televised matchups from the pool of 114 teams – the largest field in the event's history – will be announced Jan. 31, with six airing on ESPN2/ESPN and five televised by ESPNU. The remaining 46 games will not be televised by the ESPN family of networks and those teams will be paired for games the same weekend. Each team that hosts a BracketBusters game must schedule a return date in November or December of the 2012-13 season.

The Big South has the third-most conference members participating of the 15 leagues involved this season. Joining Liberty in the 2011 event are last year's four BracketBusters participants Winthrop, Radford, Presbyterian College and Gardner-Webb, plus High Point, UNC Asheville, Charleston Southern and VMI – the latter two making their first appearance in the series.