Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Flames the Fifth Seed as Seedings for 2006 Bojangles' Big South Baseball Championship Announced

May 21, 2006  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Flames the Fifth Seed as Seedings for 2006 Bojangles' Big South Baseball Championship Announced
The Liberty Flames have garnered the fifth seed for this week's Bojangles' Big South Baseball Championship presented by PUPS/PDPS at Charles Watson Stadium/Vrooman Field on the campus of Coastal Carolina University in Conway, S.C.   It is the first time the Flames have ever been seeded fifth at the Big South Championship.
The Flames, as the fifth seed, will be making their ninth appearance in the Big South Championship.  Liberty has captured the Big South title and its automatic bid to the NCAA tournament three times in 1993, 1998 and 2000.  The Flames finished conference play with a 13-11 record and enters the six-team tournament with a 36-19 overall mark.  The team's 36 victories tie the school record for most wins in a season in NCAA Division I competition with last season's and the 2000 squad.      
Liberty will be the fifth seed for the first time at the Big South Championship.  The Flames will meet nationally-ranked Winthrop, the two seed, in the second game of the day on Wednesday at 3 p.m.  The Eagles, last year's tournament champion, finished conference play with a 17-7 mark, while entering the Big South Championship with a 42-14 overall record.  Winthrop took all three games at the Winthrop Ballpark in Rock Hill, S.C. between the teams in the first conference series for both teams this season in March.
Birmingham-Southern clinched the 2006 regular-season Big South Conference baseball title and the first seed in the tournament with a weekend series sweep of the Radford Highlanders  The Panthers finished the season with an 18-6 conference mark to win their second regular-season Big South baseball title in three years and are 33-20 overall.
 Coastal Carolina, the 2005 regular-season champion, secured the third seed with its three-game sweep of UNC Asheville this weekend to finish at 15-9 in Big South play and 29-25 overall.  They will meet High Point, who earned the fourth seed with its 14-10 conference record, after taking two-of-three games from the Flames this weekend.  High Point is making its first Big South baseball tournament appearance since the format was changed to six teams four years ago
UNC Asheville, last year's ninth-place squad in the league standings, returns to the postseason tournament for the first time since 2004 as the sixth seed with its 10-14 league mark and a 24-32 overall record.
The tournament is double elimination and begins Wednesday with No.1 Birmingham-Southern vs. No. 6 UNC Asheville at 11 a.m., No. 2 Winthrop will meet No. 5 Liberty at 3 p.m. and No. 3 Coastal Carolina against  No. 4 High Point at 7 p.m. in the final contest of the day.  The tournament will continue with Games 4-6 on Thursday and Games 7-9 on Friday.  The championship game on Saturday is scheduled for
1 p.m. 
WWMC 90.9  "The Light" will broadcast all contests concerning the Flames beginning with Wednesday's 3 p.m. contest with Winthrop. Thursday's game can also be heard on the station at a time to be determined.  In addition, the live broadcast can be heard via web cast at The station will carry all Liberty tournament games as long as the team remains in the double elimination tournament.
The championship's complete schedule appears below, and will be video streamed live on the conference's web site, The Big South EDGE presented by Aéropostale.  Tournament games will be available daily via the $6.95 Day Pass -- which covers all games played that respective day -- or the $9.95 Championship Pass, which features the tournament in its entirety.  In addition, real-time "Live Stats" will be available on both the League's and Coastal Carolina's website free of charge.
In addition to the start of the tournament Wednesday, the Big South will announce the 2006 All-Conference teams in an on-field ceremony prior to the Birmingham-Southern–UNC Asheville game. 
Wednesday, May 24 (Games 1-3)
Game 1:  No. 1 seed Birmingham-Southern vs. No. 6 seed UNC Asheville, 11 a.m.  
Game 2:  No. 2 seed Winthrop vs. No. 5 seed Liberty, 3 p.m.
Game 3:  No. 3 seed Coastal Carolina vs. No. 4 seed High Point, 7 p.m.
Thursday, May 25 (Games 4-6)
Game 4:  Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 11a.m.
Game 5:  Loser Game 3 vs. Winner Game 1, 3 p.m.
Game 6:  Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3, 7 p.m.
Friday, May 26 (Games 7-9)
Game 7:  TBA vs. TBA, 11a.m.
Game 8:  TBA vs. TBA, 3 pm.
Game 9:  TBA vs. TBA, 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 27 (Games 10-11)
Game 10:  Championship Game, 1 p.m.
Game 11:  If necessary, Championship Game (immediately following Game 10)