Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Chelanga Included on 2010 Bowerman Watch List

January 14, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty redshirt junior Sam Chelanga is one of 10 preseason watch list candidates for The Bowerman. (Photo by Kirby Lee/Image of Sport)

Liberty redshirt junior Sam Chelanga is one of 10 preseason watch list candidates for The Bowerman. (Photo by Kirby Lee/Image of Sport)

Visit The Bowerman official webpage

Liberty redshirt junior Sam Chelanga has been named to the official preseason watch list for the 2010 awarding of The Bowerman, as announced today by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). Chelanga was one of 10 male collegiate track & field athletes selected by the Bowerman Men's Watch Committee.

Chelanga (Nairobi, Kenya) is the reigning NCAA Division I national cross country champion and a six-time All-American. However, The Bowerman will only encompass an athlete's accomplishments during the 2010 indoor and outdoor track & field campaigns.

Chelanga excelled on the track in 2009, his first year in a Liberty uniform. His most notable achievement happened at the Brutus Hamilton Invitational on April 24, as he set a new NCAA 10K record with a 27:28.48 clocking. Chelanga is the NCAA's top returning performer in both the indoor 5K (where he finished second in 2009) and the outdoor 10K (where he placed third in 2009).

The redshirt junior also enjoyed success at the conference level a season ago. He was a three-time Big South champion (indoor mile, outdoor 1,500 and 5K) and the outdoor IC4A 5K titlist. Chelanga was voted the Big South Howard Bagwell Male Student-Athlete of the Year and the Big South Co-Men's Track & Field Athlete of the Year.

Chelanga is expected to open his 2010 indoor track season at the Hokie Invitational. The two-day meet is slated for Jan. 22-23 at Rector Field House in Blacksburg, Va.

About The Bowerman
The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually to the top male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation. Oregon's Galen Rupp and Colorado's Jenny Barringer were the inaugural winners of The Bowerman, which is named for legendary Oregon track & field/cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

The Bowerman Advisory Board appointed four of its members to comprise The Bowerman Men's Watch Committee and another four of its members to make up The Bowerman Women's Watch Committee. The committee will release its next list, using only marks from the 2010 season, on Feb. 9, with updates occurring during the first Tuesday of each month leading to the final watch lists on June 7, the week of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Watch lists will also be released on March 16, to coincide with the conclusion of the indoor season, and May 18, to mark the ending of the outdoor conference season. The three men and three women finalists will be named on June 15.

The Bowerman Official Preseason Watch List, 2010 Men
(in alphabetical order)

Name, Year, School, Events
Jeshua Anderson, Jr., Washington State, Hurdles
Ronnie Ash, Jr., Oklahoma, Hurdles
Sam Chelanga, R-Jr., Liberty, Distance
Will Claye, So., Oklahoma, Jumps
Jason Colwick, Sr., Rice, Pole Vault
Ashton Eaton, Sr., Oregon, Combined Events
German Fernandez, So., Oklahoma State, Distance
Trindon Holliday, Sr., LSU, Sprints
Andrew Wheating, Sr., Oregon, Distance
Ryan Whiting, Sr., Arizona State, Throws

Also Receiving Mention
Charles Clark, Sr., Florida State, Sprints
Ricky Flynn, Sr., Lynchburg, Distance
Ramon Gittens, Jr., St. Augustine's, Sprints
Tabarie Henry, Jr., Texas A&M, Sprints
Ngonidzashe Makusha, Jr., Florida State, Jumps