Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Lady Flames Garner No. 3 Seed In Upcoming Big South Softball Championship

May 10, 2006  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Lady Flames Garner No. 3 Seed In Upcoming Big South Softball Championship
The Lady Flames softball team enters this week's Big South Softball Championship presented by Aéropostale as the No. 3 seed and will open up against No. 6 seed Texas A&M Corpus Christi in Game 3 on Thursday at 3 p.m.

Liberty, who finished the regular season with a 38-21 overall record and a 7-5 mark in Big South play, tied with Birmingham-Southern for third in the regular season standings, but won the tiebreaker by virtue of the Lady Flames sweep over the Panthers earlier this year.

Coastal Carolina claimed the top spot in the seedings for the tournament, which will be played at Dedmon Center Field in Radford, Va., with a 10-2 conference record, while host Radford finished second in the standings with a 9-3 record.

Winthrop finished the season with a 5-7 record and earned the No. 5 seed in the tournament. Associate member Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (2-10) took the season series with Charleston Southern (2-10) to land the No. 6 spot, with CSU receiving the No. 7 seed.

The 2006 Big South Softball Championship begins Thursday with five games scheduled and, continues with bracket play through Saturday. The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Softball Tournament.
The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:
Thursday, May 11 (at Dedmon Center Field, Radford, Va.)
Game 1:  No. 4 Birmingham-Southern vs. No. 5 Winthrop, 11 a.m.
Game 2:  No. 2 Radford vs. No. 7 Charleston Southern, 1 p.m.
Game 3:  No. 3 Liberty vs. No. 6 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, 3 p.m.
Game 4:  No. 1 Coastal Carolina vs. Game 1 winner, 5 p.m.
Game 5:  game 2 winner vs. game 3 winner, 7 p.m.

Friday, May 12 (at Dedmon Center Field, Radford, Va.)
Game 6:  Game 2 loser vs. Game 3 loser, 11 a.m.
Game 7:  Game 6 winner vs. Game 4 loser, 1 p.m.
Game 8:  Game 5 loser vs. Game 1 loser, 3 p.m.
Game 9:  Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner, 5 p.m. (semifinals)
Game 10:  Game 8 winner vs. Game 7 winner, 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 13 (at Dedmon Center Field, Radford, Va.)
Game 11:  Game 10 winner vs. Game 9 loser, 11 a.m.
Game 12:  Game 11 winner vs. Game 9 winner, 1 p.m. (championship game)
Game 13:  if necessary 3 p.m.