Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Rocco Repeats as Eddie Robinson Award Nominee

November 25, 2009  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
For the second-straight year, head coach Danny Rocco is one of 20 candidates for the Eddie Robinson Award, FCS' top coaching honor.

For the second-straight year, head coach Danny Rocco is one of 20 candidates for the Eddie Robinson Award, FCS' top coaching honor.

Link to official release and full candidate bios

For the second year in a row, Liberty Head Football Coach Danny Rocco is listed among the Top 20 candidates for the annual Eddie Robinson Award, the top honor handed out to a FCS coach each season by the Sports Network.

Rocco guided the Flames to an 8-3 season and a 5-1 mark in Big South Conference action, which allowed Liberty to share the conference crown with Stony Brook. For Liberty, it was the program's third-straight Big South title.

Rocco also helped the Flames fashion a 16-game Big South unbeaten streak, which spanned games from 2006 up to Liberty's season-finale road loss to Stony Brook. The streak is the longest in Big South history and twice as long as Coastal Carolina's eight-game winning streak that spanned the 2004 to 2006 seasons.

Liberty's 8-3 record gave the Flames three-straight seasons with eight or more wins, including a program record 10-2 campaign in 2008.

Dating back to his first year with the program, Rocco has posted a winning record four-straight years, the first such streak in program history.

Rocco's 2009 senior class graduated as the winningest senior class in program history with a 32-13 record, a mark that is more five victories than the 1997 and 1998 squads who finished their careers with 27 wins on Liberty Mountain.

For the second-straight year, Liberty finished the regular season ranked in the Top 25, as the Flames were listed at No. 22 in the last regular season poll released by the Sports Network and the FCS Coaches on Monday.

Last year, Rocco finished 15th in the voting for the Eddie Robinson Award, after guiding Liberty to a 10-2 record and a perfect 5-0 record in Big South play.

Voting for the award, which is conducted by the national FCS media and the FCS sports information directors, commenced on Monday and will continue all week.

The Sports Network will release its top three vote getters next week, while the organization will honor this year's recipients at a banquet on Dec. 17, the evening before the NCAA FCS National Championship game in Chattanooga, Tenn.

2009 Eddie Robinson Award Candidates
Al Bagnoli, Penn
Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington
Bob Biggs, UC Davis
Henry Frazier III, Prairie View A&M
Tom Gilmore, Holy Cross
J.C. Harper, Stephen F. Austin
Bobby Hauck, Montana
Jimmye Laycock, William & Mary
Pete Lembo, Elon
Dale Lennon, Southern Illinois
Mike London, Richmond
Jeff McInerney, Central Connecticut State
Jerry Moore, Appalachian State
Buddy Pough, South Carolina State
Danny Rocco, Liberty
Bob Spoo, Eastern Illinois
John Stiegelmeier, South Dakota State
Andy Talley, Villanova
Matt Viator, McNeese State
Jeff Vorris, Butler