Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Brown Spotlights Liberty's Big South Honorees

November 24, 2009  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
For the third year in a row, Liberty had one of its football players named Big South Offensive Player of the Year with the honor going to Mike Brown this seaosn.

For the third year in a row, Liberty had one of its football players named Big South Offensive Player of the Year with the honor going to Mike Brown this seaosn.

For the third year in a row, the Flames dominated the Big South football all-conference teams and finished the season with the Big South's Offensive Player of the Year, as the league officially announced this year's honorees earlier today.

Mike Brown (R-So., WR/QB, Charlottesville, Va.) was named the Big South's top offensive player, continuing Liberty's stranglehold on the award. The two years prior, former Flame and current running back with the Jacksonville Jaguars Rashad Jennings received the Big South Offensive Player of the Year award.

Brown just recently completed a season where he led the Flames with 698 receiving yards and two touchdowns, while he rushed for 442 yards and nine touchdowns via the ground attack.

The versatile athlete also completed 70.6 percent of his passing attempts, 48-of-68, for 427 yards and four passing touchdowns. Brown was the Flames' primary quarterback twice during the 2009 season, where he led Liberty to a win in both games. As the starter at Lafayette, he had a 29-of-36 passing game where he threw for 242 yards and a score in the road victory.

Beside Brown's top honor, Liberty was once again the conference leader in total honorees. The Flames completed the 2009 voting with 17 all-conference selection, six first-team and 11 second-team, finishing ahead of Gardner-Webb, who had 11 honorees (seven first team, four second-team).

Over the last three seasons, the Flames have won three-straight Big South titles and posted a combined 14-1 league record, aiding in Liberty's all-conference team dominance.

In 2007, Liberty established a Big South record with 22 all-conference honorees (13 first-team, nine second-team), besting Gardner-Webb's 11 all-conference selections.

Last season, the voting was closer, but Liberty still finished with 16 all-conference selections (nine first-team, seven second-team), while Gardner-Webb finished second with 12 all-league award winners.

Since Big South play began in 2002, student-athletes from Liberty and Gardner-Webb have received the most individual honors. The Bulldogs lead the Big South with 121 all-time, all-conference selection (67 first-team, 54 second-team), while Liberty ranks second in league history with 100 all-time all-conference honorees (49 first-team, 51 second-team).

Joining Brown on the first-team were offensive lineman Bryan Mosier and Josh Weaver, both of whom were preseason all-conference picks, along with defensive lineman Trey Jacobs, defensive back KaJuan Lee and place kicker Matt Bevins.

Liberty's 11 second-team all-conference honorees is the third-highest single-team total in Big South history, ranking behind Gardner-Webb's 13 first-team all-conference selections in 2002 and the Liberty's 13 first-team all-conference award winners in 2007.

Quarterback Tommy Beecher was the first of five offensive second-team honorees for the Flames, as he was joined by wide receiver Chris Summers, tight end Will Quarles and offensive linemen Mario Cosby and Alex Stadler.

On the defensive side of the field, Liberty's all-conference second-team award winners were defensive lineman Asa Chapman, linebackers Doncel Bolt and Wes Cheek and defensive back Chris Rocco, who was also named to the All-Academic team.

Rounding out Liberty second-team honorees were punter Mike Larsson and kickoff return specialist Aaron Hewlett.

Besides Brown, the remaining major conference honors went to individuals from Gardner-Webb and Stony Brook.

Stony Brook's senior linebacker Tyler Santucci was named Big South Defensive Player of the Year, after finished second in the Big South with 93 tackles, including a program-best 57 solo stops.

Stony Brook's Chuck Priore was tabbed the Big South Coach of the Year, ending Flames head coach Danny Rocco's three-year run of capturing the title. Priore led the Seawolves to a 5-1 record and a share of the Big South title, along with Liberty.

Gardner-Webb's Matt Goods captured this year's Big South Freshman of the Year award in a close race over Liberty's Aldreakis Allen (RB) and Presbyterian's Lance Byrd (RB). Goods, who was named the Big South Freshman of the Week three times in 2009, finished the year 40 tackles, including 10.5 tackles for a loss (49 yards) and seven quarterback hurries.

Rounding out the premier award winners was Gardner-Webb's Mario Brown, who was named the Big South's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The senior linebacker finished his final season at Gardner-Webb with 84 tackles, helping him tally 316 career stops which ranks fourth in Big South history.

Offensive Player of The Year
Mike Brown, R-So., WR/QB, Liberty

Defensive Player of The Year
Tyler Santucci, Sr., LB, Stony Brook

Freshman of The Year
Matt Goods, DL, Gardner-Webb

Coach 0f The Year
Chuck Priore, Stony Brook

Scholar-Athlete of The Year
Mario Brown, R-Sr., LB, Gardner-Webb

First-Team All-Conference
QB - Stan Doolittle, Sr., Gardner-Webb
RB - Edwin Gowins, So., Stony Brook
RB - Conte Cuttino, Sr., Stony Brook
WR - Mike Brown, R-So., Liberty
WR - Gerald Stevenson, Jr., Charleston Southern
WR - James Perry III, R-So., Gardner-Webb
TE - David Duran, R-So., Coastal Carolina
OL - Bryan Mosier, R-Sr., Liberty
OL - Paul Fenaroli, Jr., Stony Brook
OL - Corey O'Daniel, Jr., Gardner-Webb
OL - George Handler, R-Sr., VMI
OL - Josh Weaver, R-Sr., Liberty

DL - Trey Jacobs, Sr., Liberty
DL - Phillip Oboh, Sr., Coastal Carolina
DL - Matt Goods, Fr., Gardner-Webb
DL - Joel Walton, Jr., Charleston Southern
LB - Tyler Santucci, Sr., Stony Brook
LB - Marty Patterson, Jr., Gardner-Webb
LB - Mario Brown, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb
LB - Andrew McKain, R-Sr., Charleston Southern
DB - Josh Norman, So., Coastal Carolina
DB - Arin West, Jr., Stony Brook
DB - KaJuan Lee, R-So., Liberty
DB - Chris Kuzdale, So., Charleston Southern

Special Teams
PK - Matt Bevins, So., Liberty
P - Marc Ray, R-Fr., VMI
LS - Andrew McKain, R-Sr., Charleston Southern
KR - David Montgomery, Sr., Gardner-Webb
PR - Tim Maypray, Sr., VMI

Second-Team All-Conference
QB - Tommy Beecher, R-Sr., Liberty

RB - Howard Abegesah, Sr., VMI
RB - Patrick Hall, Jr., Gardner-Webb
WR - Chris Summers, R-So., Liberty
WR - Patrick McKoy, So., Presbyterian College
WR - Kwame Krakue, R-Jr., Charleston Southern
TE - Will Quarles, R-Sr., Liberty
OL - Ryan Boehm, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina
OL - Kyle Webber, Sr., Gardner-Webb
OL - J.W. Myers, R-Sr., Charleston Southern
OL - Mario Cosby, R-Sr., Liberty
OL - Alex Stadler, R-Jr., Liberty

DL - Josh Wine, Jr., VMI
DL - Quinnon Isom, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb
DL - Asa Chapman, So, Liberty
DL - Chris Perri, Sr., Stony Brook
LB - Doncel Bolt, Jr., Liberty
LB - Wes Cheek, Sr., Liberty

LB - Emilio Calvin, R-So., VMI
LB - Desmond Steward, R-So., Coastal Carolina
DB - Byron Allen, R-So., VMI
DB - Chris Rocco, Sr., Liberty
DB - Justin Bethel, So., Presbyterian College
DB - Chris Richards, Sr., Stony Brook

Special Teams
PK - John Paglia, Jr., Charleston Southern (tie)
PK - Ryan Gates, So., Gardner-Webb (tie)
P - Mike Larsson, So., Liberty
LS - Matt Quinn, Sr., Presbyterian College
KR - Aaron Hewlett, R-Sr., Liberty
PR - Antwan Ivey, So., Charleston Southern

All-Academic Team
Andrew McKain, R-Sr., LB, Charleston Southern
Justin Durham, R-Jr., K, Coastal Carolina
Mario Brown, R-Sr., LB, Gardner-Webb
Chris Rocco, Sr., DB, Liberty
Matt Freeman, Sr., DL, Presbyterian College
Jeff Santos, Sr., OL, Stony Brook
George Handler, R-Sr., OL, VMI