Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

LU Concludes Regular Season on Links at UVA

April 24, 2009  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Tobias Pettersson and the Flames conclude the regular season at Virginia's 22nd Annual Cavalier Classic.

Tobias Pettersson and the Flames conclude the regular season at Virginia's 22nd Annual Cavalier Classic.

The Flames' last regular season event, the 22nd Annual Cavalier Classic, hosted by Virginia, at the Birdwood Course, located in Charlottesville, Va., tees off Saturday.

The 36-hole tournament will be contested on the Birdwood Course, a golf location rich in history. Its verdant hills were part of a 1739 "upland wilderness" land patent, one of the earliest in the colony. In 1819, Birdwood Pavilion was constructed by the same craftsmen who built the Rotunda at the University of Virginia. Over time, the property's prized farmland became a top producer of Hereford cattle and prize winning show horses.

The University of Virginia acquired the property in 1974, enlisting architect Lindsay Ervin in 1984 to transform Birdwood into the par-72, 6,875-yard championship configuration it is today.

Liberty is one of 18 teams participating in the event. The other teams included in the field are Akron, Appalachian State, Augusta State, East Carolina, Francis Marion, George Mason, James Madison, Longwood, Maryland, Radford, Rutgers, Seton Hall, South Carolina, Towson, UNC Wilmington and Villanova. Three individuals will compete from NC State and Virginia, while James Madison, Liberty, Maryland and Francis Marion will all field on individual competitor. With 18 teams entered, along with 10 individual slots, a 95-man field is set to tee off.

Host Virginia has won the past two Cavalier Classic events and has been victorious in six of the previous 21 events. Liberty participated in the event last season and placed ninth out of 20 teams. Virginia topped Augusta State by three strokes to capture the team championship. Augusta State's Henrik Norlander (139) took home the 2008 medalist honors.

Liberty freshman Robert Karlsson (Kalmar, Sweden) will head Liberty's five-man crew which also features senior Jay Calvo (Baird, Texas), sophomore Preston Dembowiak (Summerfield, N.C.), freshman Tobias Pettersson (Kalmar, Sweden) and redshirt-junior Nathan Schenz-Davis (San Diego, Calif.).

Make sure to check for tournament results.