Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty No. 5 Seed for Men's Championship

April 12, 2009  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Juan Reyes

Juan Reyes

The Liberty Flames will be the No. 5 seed in this week's Big South Men's Tennis Championship, which begins Thursday in Rock Hill, S.C.

Liberty enters the Big South Men's Tennis Championship with an 11-9 overall record and a 1-4 mark in conference play. The Flames will host Big South newcomer Presbyterian, Monday to conclude their regular season. This season, Liberty has recorded its best overall record since 2003, when the Flames went 11-11. Four Flames have posted double-digits in wins, led by Juan Reyes with 13 wins. Chad Simpson and Louis Steyn have each won 11 singles contests. Liberty faces No. 4 seed Gardner-Webb in a first round match, Thursday.

The 56th ranked Radford men's tennis team claimed the No. 1 seed for this week's Big South Men's Tennis Championship. The Highlanders finished the season with a 6-0 League mark and an 18-3 overall record.

Tournament host Winthrop finished in second place at 5-1 to earn the No. 2 seed, while Coastal Carolina secured the No. 3 seed with a 4-2 conference record. Gardner-Webb, 3-3, landed the No. 4 seed, followed by Liberty in the No. 5 position. UNC Asheville is the No. 6 seed with a 0-6 record.

While Presbyterian will conclude its regular-season schedule Monday against the Flames, the Blue Hose are not eligible for the championship due to its transition to Division I.

The 2009 Big South Men's Tennis Championship begins Thursday, with two matches and concludes with the title game on Saturday, at 1 p.m. The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Tennis Championship. The conference championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, April 16
Match 1: No. 4 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 5 Liberty, 10 a.m.
Match 2: No. 3 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 6 UNC Asheville, 2 p.m.

Friday, April 17
Match 3: No. 1 Radford vs. Match 1 Winner, 10 a.m.
Match 4: Match 2 Winner vs. No. 2 Winthrop, 2 p.m.

Saturday, April 18
Match 5: Match 4 Winner vs. Match 5 Winner, 1 p.m.