Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Awarded Volleyball Team Sportsmanship Award

December 14, 2005  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty Awarded Volleyball Team Sportsmanship Award

Liberty University has been awarded the Big South Conference's Team Sportsmanship Award for volleyball, it was announced today by Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander. The honor is part of the Big South's new individual, team and institutional sportsmanship awards for the 2005-06 season.

The Lady Flames, coached by Shane Pinder, received three first-place votes and 15 points, ahead of second-place Charleston Southern (one first-place votes and eight points) and third-place Radford (one first-place vote and seven points). In addition, Birmingham-Southern, Coastal Carolina and Winthrop each received a first-place vote.

The team awards are voted on by Big South student-athletes and are awarded at the end of each competitive season. Teams cannot vote for themselves. Each institution ranks and votes for its top three. Teams receive three points for a first-place ranking, two points for a second-place ranking and one point for a third-place ranking.

"The Big South Conference places great emphasis on the values of sportsmanship and fair play," said Kallander. "The creation of these awards appropriately recognizes those student-athletes and coaches within the Conference that are leaders in exemplifying these values."

At the conclusion of the 2005-06 athletic season, the individual and institutional sportsmanship awards will be announced. To determine the individual award winners, each institution shall nominate one male and one female no later than May 15. The NCAA Sportsmanship Award criteria shall be utilized, and the Big South honorees shall be announced no later than June 15. The Conference winners shall be nominated for the NCAA Sportsmanship Award.

An institution's sport winners will count towards the Institution Sportsmanship Award. The winner will be selected by percentages (i.e., if an institution has 16 sports and four winners, the percentage is 25%). The institution with the highest percentage will win the award.