Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Two Lady Flames Earn Big South Honors

November 18, 2005  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Two Lady Flames Earn Big South Honors

Liberty's Kendall Nichols was named to the Big South All-Freshman team, while Autum Poorman was named to the academic all-conference team the Conference announced Friday evening at the League's annual volleyball awards banquet, held at the Wild Wing Plantation in Conway, S.C.

Coastal Carolina outside hitter Katherine Jensen-Spencer and Lady Chanticleers head coach Kristen Bauer were voted the 2005 Big South Volleyball Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, by the League's coaches and sports information directors, while Winthrop setter Chandra Ginest was named Freshman of the Year. Jensen-Spencer was also named Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the sports information directors.

Jensen-Spencer finished the regular-season ranked first in the Big South and 14th nationally in kills per game, averaging 5.19. She was the only player in the League to post two 30-plus kill matches, including a Big South season-high 32 kills against Conference foe Winthrop on Oct. 15. She posted 19 double-doubles on the year and notched three matches with 20-or-more kills and digs. A senior marketing major, Jensen-Spencer is the second player ever to earn both Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors in the same season since former Chanticleer Roberta Croteau in 1996. Jensen-Spencer was recently named to the 2005 ESPN The Magazine /CoSIDA Academic All-District III Team. She also finished in the top ten in hitting percentage with .240 and digs with 3.97 per game.

Jensen-Spencer received 10 first-place votes and 182 points, followed by Winthrop's Mary Hock with six first-place votes and 169 points.

Under Bauer's leadership, the Chants posted a 12-2 record Big South record and an 18-10 regular-season mark. Her Chanticleers led the League in both kills with 15.84 per game and assists, averaging 14.42 per contest. It is Bauer's second Coach of the Year award as she was honored in 2000. Bauer received 10-first place votes and 37 points, ahead of Winthrop head coach Joel McCartney who received 30 points and four first-place votes.

Ginest, who earned Second-team All-Big South honors as well, stepped into the starting role for the Eagles and dished out a League-leading 12.33 assists per game during her freshman campaign. She earned Big South Freshman of the Week honors three times this season. Ginest posted four matches with 50-or-more assists, and two matches with at least 60, including a season-high 62 assists against Coastal Carolina on Nov. 5. Ginest garnered nine first place votes and 87 points, followed by Alex Plummer of Birmingham-Southern with three first-place votes and 61 points.

The 2005 Big South Volleyball Championship continues at Kimbel Arena on the campus of Coastal Carolina University. The semifinals on Saturday, Nov. 19, will feature No. 1 Winthrop taking on No. 4 Birmingham-Southern at 2:00pm, followed by No. 2 Coastal Carolina and No. 3 UNC Asheville at 5:00pm. The title match is slated for Sunday at 2:00pm, with the winner receiving the Big South's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

2005 Big South Conference Volleyball Award Winners

First-team All-Conference
Katherine Jensen-Spencer, OH, Coastal Carolina
Mary Hock, OH, Winthrop
Elif Unlu, OH, UNC Asheville
Taryn Surbaugh, MH,
Winthrop Jennifer Hampton, S, Coastal Carolina
Divona Cox, M, Radford
Alex Plummer, DS, Birmingham-Southern

Second-team All-Conference
Amanda Wiles, S, UNC Asheville
Michelle Feiser, S/OH, High Point
Katie O'Riordan, S, Charleston Southern
Cassie Reed, OH, Birmingham-Southern
Chandra Ginest, S, Winthrop
Tori Grafeman, OH, Winthrop
Beth Waggoner, DS, Winthrop

All-Freshman Team
Chandra Ginest, S, Winthrop
Alex Plummer DS, Birmingham-Southern
Kendall Nichols, OH, Liberty
Ashley Mellott, OH, High Point
Kelsey King, S, Birmingham-Southern
Brett Starbuck, DS, Coastal Carolina

Academic All-Conference
Sara Martin, MB, Birmingham-Southern
Victoria Owens, OH, Charleston Southern
Katherine Jensen-Spencer, OH, Coastal Carolina
Michelle Feiser, S/OH, High Point
Autum Poorman, MB, Liberty
Divona Cox, M, Radford
Rose Butler, MB, UNC Asheville
Beth Waggoner, DS, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Katherine Jensen-Spencer, OH, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Chandra Ginest, S, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Kristen Bauer, Coastal Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Katherine Jensen-Spencer, OH, Coastal Carolina