Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

McDougal's Run Highlights Flames Success At Liberty Last Chance Track Meet

February 18, 2006  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share

Three-time All-American Josh McDougal nearly added another accolade to his stellar career as the sophomore just missed recording a sub four minute mile, highlighting Liberty's track and field team accomplishments at the Liberty Last Chance Track Meet held Saturday at the Tolsma Indoor Track Center.

On the day, Liberty had 17 top three finishers, including six first-place finishers, in the team's final tune-up before next week's Big South Indoor Track and Field Championships held at Clemson on Friday and Saturday.

McDougal missed joining the historical sub four minute mile club by less than two seconds as the sophomore won the mile run with a time of 4:01.63, provisionally qualifying the runner for nationals. Fellow teammate Jarvis Jelen finished second in the event with a time of 4:12.66, earning the sophomore a ticket to go to the IC4A Championships.

McDougal also claimed victory in the 3000m with a time of 8:20.33, while senior Evan Falat followed behind him with a second-place time of 8:41.20. Phil Leinweber led the Flames' freshman class as the rookie claimed victory in the 400m with a time of 49:51, while Clendon Henderson won the shot put with a mark of 15.40m as an unattached competitor.

Senior Ravanno Ferguson finished third in the 60m with a time of 6.88 in a field that included Nike competitor LaShawn Merritt (6.68) and world class runner Tim Walls (6.83).

On the women's side of the event, Andrea Beckles finished first in the 200m with a time of 25.89 and placed third in the 60m with a time of 7.79.

Janie Watson claimed victory in the 800m with a time of 2:16.13, while Kena Butts won the high jump as she reached a height of 1.69m. Danielle Jordan (10:24.04) and Piper Newby (10:37.82) finished second and third in the 3000m, while Tra' Screen placed third in the 400m with a time of 59.58.

Liberty's 4x400 women's meter relay team finished second with a time of 3:52.35, qualifying the squad, which is comprised of Mynique Robinson, Screen, Butts and Watson, for the ECAC Championships.