Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Men's Tennis Seed Announced

April 13, 2008  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
2008 Liberty men's tennis team

2008 Liberty men's tennis team

The Liberty Flames will open the 2008 Big South Men's Tennis Championship, Thursday at Rock Hill, S.C., as the No. 5 seed. The Big South Conference office announced the seedings and the tournament's pairings earlier this evening, with the close of the regular season this afternoon.

Liberty, which was 2-4 in conference, will play No. 4 seed, Coastal Carolina in the first match of the day Thursday. The match is set to begin at 9 a.m. The Flames finished tied with Winthrop in the regular season standings, but received the No. 5 seed by virtue of their victory over the Eagles this afternoon. Coastal Carolina finished 3-3 in conference to secure the No. 4 seed.

Radford claimed its third-straight Big South regular-season title, and the No. 1 seed for this week's Big South Men's Tennis Championship. The Highlanders finished the season with a 6-0 league mark and will receive a first round bye.

High Point and Charleston Southern tied for second place in the conference standings at 4-2, with the Panthers claiming the No. 2 seed due to its win over the Buccaneers earlier in the season. Coastal Carolina, Liberty and Winthrop picked up the next three seeds. UNC Asheville rounds out the field, as the No. 7 seed.

The 2008 Big South Men's Tennis Championship begins Thursday, with three matches and concludes with the Championship game on Saturday at 9 a.m. The Big South's champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Tennis Championship. The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, April 17
Match 1: No. 4 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 5 Liberty, 9 a.m. ET
Match 2: No. 2 High Point vs. No. 7 UNC Asheville, 11:30 a.m.
Match 3: No. 3 Charleston Southern vs. No. 6 Winthrop, 2:30 p.m.

Friday, April 18
Match 4: No. 1 Radford vs. Match 1 Winner, 10 a.m.
Match 5: Match 2 Winner vs. Match 3 Winner, 1p.m.

Saturday, April 19
Match 6: Match 4 Winner vs. Match 5 Winner, 9 a.m.