Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

2019 ASUN Champions Recognized as Liberty Baseball's Top Season

October 15, 2020  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
The 2019 Flames celebrate their ASUN Championship.

The 2019 Flames celebrate their ASUN Championship.

In conjunction with each institution's sports information office, the ASUN Conference has announced each member school's top team in baseball program history. The 2019 squad was recognized as Liberty's top baseball team, with the 1981, 2000 and 2013 teams each earning honorable mention.

Top Baseball Season – 2019

In their first season in the ASUN Conference, the Flames won the conference title and advanced to an NCAA Regional for the first time since 2014. Liberty won four elimination games to capture the title, including downing host Stetson 4-3 in the title contest.

Featuring All-American reliever Evan Brabrand and ASUN Player of the Year and Tournament MVP Jonathan Embry, Liberty posted a 43-21 mark, tying the school record for wins in a single season. Along with Brabrand and Embry, second baseman Will Wagner was named to the all-conference first team, while right-hander Andrew McInvale earned selection to the second team.

Besides tying the program record for wins in a season, Scott Jackson's Flames set new school records for innings pitched (568), strikeouts (557) and saves (19). Brabrand led the ASUN with 13 saves, second in a single season in program history. Meanwhile, McInvale finished the year with ASUN-leading 10 wins and struck out 101, both second all-time in a single season in program history.

Honorable Mention – 1981, 1999 and 2013

The 1981 Flames reached the NAIA National Tournament for the first time in school history under the guidance of program founder Al Worthington. Behind All-Americans Sid Bream, Renard Brown and Lee Guetterman, Liberty posted a 39-13 record, winning NAIA District 19 and Region 8 titles to advance to the national tournament.  

Meanwhile in 2000, the Flames posted a 36-23 record and advancing to the NCAA Columbia, S.C. Regional, where they won the program's first-ever NCAA tournament contest, a 10-2 victory over Seton Hall. Outfielder Kevin Butler earned Freshman All-American honors and was named Big South Conference Player and Freshman of the Year. Shortstop Joey Monahan also was honored with a Freshman All-American selection.

 Playing in their new home, the Liberty Baseball Stadium, the Flames shocked the Big South Tournament field, winning five straight elimination games to claim the program's first conference title in 13 years. Liberty, which finished the year with a 36-29 mark, went on to defeat Clemson twice in the NCAA Columbia, S.C. Regional to make their first appearance in a regional final in program history.

Throughout the months of September and October, the ASUN Conference has revealed each member's top seasons in each sport the conference sponsors. Refer to for other program's top seasons.