Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

2000 Recognized as Liberty Women's Soccer's Top Season

September 15, 2020  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
2000 Recognized as Liberty Women's Soccer's Top Season

In conjunction with each institution's sports information office, the ASUN Conference has announced each member school's top team in women's soccer program history. The 2000 squad was recognized as Liberty's top women's soccer team, with the 2013, 2015 and 2016 teams each earning honorable mention.

Top Women's Soccer Season – 2000

      After finishing second in the Big South Conference with a 4-2 record during the regular season, Liberty had five all-conference selections, including three Big South first team honorees in Nancy Davis, Jenny Davis and Breanna Jacinto. Davis had a historical season for the Lady Flames as she tallied 13 goals throughout the 2000 season, which ranks as the second most in a single season in program history. Davis also recorded 33 points, which also ranks No. 2 for most points in a season. Goalkeeper, Amy Moxley, was a staple for Liberty's defense as she played 1,983 minutes in goal, which ranks the second most minutes in goal in a single season. 

      The Lady Flames saved their best play for the most important time of the season as Liberty allowed only one goal throughout the Big South Tournament, while scoring six goals. Liberty started the Big South Tournament with a 3-1 win over UNC Asheville in the quarterfinals. In order to secure a spot in the Big South Championship, the Lady Flames would defeat Charleston Southern in a tight 1-0 battle. Liberty punched its ticket to the NCAA Tournament with a 2-0 win over Elon to win Liberty's first-ever Big South Championship. Davis was named the Big South Tournament MVP.

      Liberty played Tennessee Tech in the NCAA Tournament play-in game, where Lady Flames defeated the Golden Eagles 1-0 to advance in the NCAA Tournament. Liberty would face Wake Forest in the next round where the Demon Deacons would defeat Liberty 6-1. Liberty ended the season with a 15-7 record, which is the second most wins in a single season in program history.

Honorable Mention – 2013, 2015 and 2016

      In 2013, Liberty won a school-record 16 games while finishing second in the Big South regular season with an 8-2-1 record. The Lady Flames had six all-conference honorees and in the Big South Tournament, Liberty's offense turned it up, scoring 10 goals in three games, while Liberty's backline allowed just one goal. Liberty defeated Radford, 5-0, in the Big South Championship as Brittany Aanderud was named Tournament MVP. The Lady Flames faced North Carolina in the NCAA Tournament in the first round, where they lost 4-0.

      Winning its second Big South Championship in a three-year span, Liberty's 2015 team went 13-8-1 throughout the season, including an 8-2 record in the Big South, which was atop the conference. Liberty had five all-conference players, including Jennifer Knoebel who was named First Team All-Big South. Liberty defeated Winthrop, Campbell and High Point in the Big South Tournament, allowing just one goal throughout three games. Alex Mack was named Big South Tournament MVP. Liberty suffered a 3-0 loss in the first round of the NCAA Tournament to North Carolina.

      For the second time in school history, Liberty won back-to-back Big South Championships as Liberty completed the back-to-back in 2016. Throughout the 2016 season, Liberty went 14-8-0 with a 7-2 record in the Big South. Liberty racked up the postseason awards as Gabrielle Farrell was named the Big South Freshman of the Year, Holly Van Noord was named the Big South Defensive Player of the Year and the program had seven all-conference players. Throughout Liberty's run in the Big South Tournament, Liberty scored 10 goals, while allowing just one goal. In the Big South Championship, Liberty defeated High Point, 2-1, in an overtime thriller as Farrell scored to secure the Big South title. Jennifer Knoebel was named the Big South Tournament MVP. Liberty faced North Carolina in the NCAA Tournament, where they were handed a 3-0 loss to the Tar Heels.  

      During the coming weeks, the ASUN Conference will continue revealing each member's top seasons in each sport the conference sponsors.