Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Chang Named to ASUN Men's Golf All-Decade Team

July 29, 2020  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Chang Named to ASUN Men's Golf All-Decade Team

Thanks to two stellar seasons in the ASUN Conference, Liberty's Ervin Chang was one of 20 student-athletes named to the 2011-20 ASUN Men's Golf All-Decade team, as announced by the conference office.

Throughout the month of July, the ASUN will be recognizing each sport's top student-athletes from the recently completed decade. Liberty spent the final year and a half of the decade as a conference member after joining the ASUN on July 1, 2018.

The Flames have quickly made their presence known in the ASUN Conference, as eight different Liberty squads have won at least one ASUN team title over the last two years. Liberty captured the 2018-19 Bill Bibb Trophy, which is awarded to the ASUN Conference institution with the top overall athletic program.

During his first season in the ASUN, Chang was named the 2019 ASUN Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as well as earning a selection to the ASUN All-Academic team the last two seasons.

The native of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, has been named to the ASUN Men's Golf All-Conference team each of the last two seasons.

He finished the 2018-19 season with a 71.71 season stroke average and was a GCAA All-America selection after posting eight top 10 finishes.

During the shortened 2019-20 season, Chang posted a 72.22 season stroke average with three top-10 finishes.

Chang, who plans to return to Liberty for a fifth season of competition in 2020-21, holds a 72.62 career stroke average and leads the Flames with 18 career top-10 finishes.

To be named to the ASUN Conference All-Decade Team an individual must have competed for at least two years in the decade as an ASUN student-athlete.

Individuals that obtained one of the following criteria were named to the team; three First Team All-Conference selections, four All-Conference selections or multiple Scholar-Athlete/Player of the Year.

Individuals that obtained at least two of the following criteria were also named to the team; Player/Freshman/Scholar- Athlete of the Year/Championship Medalist, three All-Conference selections, two First Team All-Conference selections or three top-10 at ASUN Championship.