Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Flames Land 7 Players on Big South All-Decade Football Squad

June 8, 2020  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Video Views: 1558

The Flames were well represented on the 2010-19 Big South Conference Football All-Decade Team with seven players selected to the listing. The team was released by the Big South Conference office earlier today.

Throughout the month of June, the Big South will be recognizing each sport's top student-athletes and coaches from the recently completed decade. Liberty wrapped up its 27-year Big South Conference membership on June 30, 2018, departing for the ASUN Conference.

The Flames excelled during their final years of Big South competition, earning seven Sasser Cups and 62 Big South team championships between 2010-18.

A 15-person committee of Big South Conference administrators served as the official voting panel to determine the All-Decade Team, with fan voting comprising 20 percent of the overall total. The 2010-19 Football All-Decade Team featured 35 players and two head coaches.

Liberty's seven honorees on the 2010-19 Football All-Decade Team included Walt Aikens (DB), Matt Bevins (K), Jonathan Burgess (OL), Chris Summers (WR), Trey Turner (P), Richard Wright (LS) and Chima Uzowihe (DL).

This group helped the Flames capture Big South titles in 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016 before Liberty transitioned out of the conference following the 2017 season to begin its FBS reclassification project.

Aikens earned All-Big South honorees each of his three seasons with the Flames (2011-13). He finished his career with 162 tackles (120 solo, 42 assisted) and 13 pass breakups. He was selected in the fourth round of the 2014 NFL Draft by the Miami Dolphins and played six season for the franchise.

Bevins (2008-11) is the program's all-time leader in career points scored (309) and field goals (58). He was a two-time All-America selection, earning first-team honors from the Associated Press, CSN Sweet 63, Phil Steele Postseason, Sports Network and Walter Camp Foundation All-America teams in 2008-09.

Burgess (2013-15) finished his career at Liberty as a three-time All-Big South selection and was named to three All-America teams in 2015 (Associated Press, CSN Fabulous Fifty FCS and STATS FCS). The former walk-on, who had 34 career starts, paced the Flames in knockdowns in 2015 and helped Liberty lead the conference in passing yards (259.9 yards per game).

At the time Summers finished his stellar four-year career (2008-11), the wider receiver held the program record for career receiving yards (2,712), touchdowns (26) and receptions (188). He was a two-time All-America selection and three-time All-Big South team member.

Turner is the only punter in program history to finish his career with a punting averaging of 40.0 yards per punt or higher (40.9). He ranks fourth in program history with 217 punts and was named to the All-Big South team each of his four seasons at Liberty (2014-17).

Wright (2010-13) is one of the most decorated long snappers in program history, earning All-America honors from the Sports Network and CSN Fabulous Fifty FCS All-America teams in 2011 and 2013. Wright served as the long snapper for both Bevins and Turner, helping them set career program records.

Uzowihe (2012-15) was named to the 2015 Associated Press and STATS FCS All-America teams, capping his four-year career with the Flames (2012-15). He is the program's all-time leader in career sacks (25.0) and ranks second in career tackles for a loss (44.0).

The Big South Conference previously announced additional all-decade teams as part of its 30th anniversary celebration during the 2013-14 academic year. The following Flames were included on those squads.

2002-09 Fooball All-Decade Team
RB – Dre Barnes
RB – Rashad Jennings
TE – Chris Luck
OL – Mike Godsil
OL – Eddie Pinigis
DB – Patrick Calvery
LS – Dan Pope
RS – Dominic Bolden

2010-19 Football All-Decade Team
WR – Chris Summers
OL – Jonathan Burgess
DL – Chima Uzowihe
DB – Walt Aikens
K – Matt Bevins
P – Trey Turner
LS – Richard Wright