Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Lady Flames Receive No. 2 Seed for 2019 ASUN Lacrosse Championship

April 29, 2019  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty is the two seed for the ASUN Lacrosse Championship.

Liberty is the two seed for the ASUN Lacrosse Championship.

Championship Central
2019 ASUN Lacrosse Championship Bracket

The Lady Flames lacrosse team has earned the No. 2 seed for this week's ASUN Lacrosse Championship.

The conference championship will be contested at Coastal Carolina's Brooks Stadium in Conway, S.C., Thursday and Saturday.

Liberty (13-4) received the two seed based on its 5-1 record in ASUN play in its first season in the league. The Lady Flames will square off with tournament host and No. 3 seed Coastal Carolina (12-5, 4-2 ASUN) in a semifinal match, Thursday at 4 p.m. The Lady Flames topped the Chanticleers 11-10, March 31 in the regular-season meeting between the two squads.

The other semifinal will feaure No. 1 seed and regular season champion Jacksonville (14-3, 6-0 ASUN) and No. 4 seed Kennesaw State (8-9, 3-3 ASUN). The Dolphins and Owls will face off at 1 p.m., Thursday afternoon prior to the Liberty-Coastal Carolina game.

The winners of the two semifinals contests will meet in the final on Saturday at 1 p.m. The ASUN champion will receive an automatic berth into the 2019 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship. All three tournament games will be carried live on ESPN+.

Liberty is the No. 2 seed in a conference tournament for the second straight season after receiving the same seed in its final Big South Women's Lacrosse Championship in 2018. The Lady Flames have matched a program record with 13 victories in 2019. Liberty is in search of its first-ever conference title.

2019 ASUN Lacrosse Championship – Brooks Stadium – Conway, S.C.
Thursday, May 2 – Semifinals
Game 1 – No. 1 seed Jacksonville vs. No. 4 seed Kennesaw State, 1 p.m. – ESPN+
Game 2 – No. 2 seed Liberty vs. No. 3 seed Coastal Carolina, 4 p.m. – ESPN+

Saturday, May 4 – Final
Game 3 – Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 1 p.m. – ESPN+