Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Clinches Spot in ASUN Championship, Defeating Jacksonville

October 19, 2018  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Video Views: 4412

To kick off the final week of the regular season for Liberty women's soccer, the Lady Flames came up big with a 1-0 victory over Jacksonville, to clinch a spot in the ASUN Conference Championship.  

Scoring Summary

50' - LIBERTY - Zoe Gaffney (Assist by Kasey Jamieson) 

Turning Point

Both in the first half and the second half Liberty got off to good starts, controlling possession. Early in the second half, Liberty capitalized off a cross from Kasey Jamieson, allowing Zoe Gaffney to punch in the goal from two-yards out. Liberty was able to dictate the pace of play and continue to control possession throughout the game.

Key Stats & Notes

  • Liberty clinches a spot in the ASUN Championship, currently sitting in fifth place.

  • For the second straight game, Kasey Jamieson has recorded an assist.

  • Zoe Gaffney is now tied for the team-lead in goals scored (3) this season.

  • For the first time this season, Liberty posted shutouts in back-to-back games.

  • Melody Jayroe recorded her fourth shutout of the season.

  • Liberty outshot Jacksonville 17-4.

  • Devon Sipala recorded a game-high four shots.

  • Liberty had 10 players attempt a shot.

  • Liberty did not allow Jacksonville to attempt a corner kick.

Thoughts from Coach Wedemeyer

"I thought we started the game really well and created some chances. We lost a little bit of our rhythm but quickly regained it in the second half and put them under a lot of pressure. One of the greatest things about this team is that even through the tough times in the middle of the season, they remained positive and worked hard and I think you are seeing that perseverance pay off now."

Up Next

Liberty will close out the regular season on Sunday, Oct. 21, against North Florida. Kickoff is set for noon against the Osprey at Osborne Stadium. It will be Senior Day for the Lady Flames as they will honor its eight seniors: Molly Andres, Amanda Barrett, Caroline Boone, Sarah Erickson, Hadley Jones, Abigail Persson, Devon Sipala and Lauren Weygandt.