Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Four Flames Named to Big South All-Conference Team

May 22, 2018  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Four Flames Named to Big South All-Conference Team

Four Liberty Flames have been named to the 2018 Big South All-Conference team, as the Big South Conference announced its baseball awards and all-conference team, this morning.

As selected by the conference's head coaches, outfielder D.J. Artis and utility player Tre Todd were selected to the Big South All-Conference first team, while third baseman Tyler Galazin and starting pitcher Garret Price received all-conference honorable mention honors. Pitcher Zach Clinton was named to the Big South All-Academic team.

For the third straight year, Artis earned all-conference first team honors. The junior leads the Big South Conference with 59 runs scored, a single-season career high, and doubles with 15. He also ranks second in the conference in stolen bases (25) and walks (47) and third in on base percentage (.466) and triples (5).

The 2017 Big South Player of the Year and 2016 Big South Freshman of the Year, Artis enters today's 2018 Big South Baseball Championship at Liberty Baseball Stadium with a .303 batting average and four home runs. He also finished the conference's regular season with 16 multi-hit games. In six of the contests, he had three or more hits.

The Greensboro, N.C., native is one of only three players in Liberty history with over 200 hits, 165 runs scored and 65 stolen bases during his career. He enters the week tied for second in program history with 171 career runs scored, eight shy of tying Pat Sipe (1983-86), who scored 179 during his career. In addition, the junior is one stolen base shy of tying Larry Wayne York (2000-03) for second all-time with 72 steals. The junior already holds the program record with 116 career walks.

Currently, Artis has reached base in 66 straight games. The streak is the longest active streak in the nation. The last time the junior failed to reach base in a contest came on May 2, 2017 at Virginia.

In his first season at Liberty, Todd has started every Liberty contest this season in either left field or at catcher. Todd begins the week as the national leader in walks with 59. He also leads the Big South Conference with a .492 on base percentage and a .578 slugging percentage.

The junior has hit .326 with 52 RBI and 42 runs scored with 11 doubles, four triples and 10 home runs. He is among the conference leaders in batting average (seventh), runs scored (ninth), triples (tied for seventh) and home runs (fourth). The utility man was named the Big South Player of the Week for April 16.

The Deptford, N.J., native leads the Flames with 18 multi-hit games and 15 multi-RBI contests. He has driven three or more runs in seven games, this season.

Galazin joins Todd as a first-year Flame earning all-conference honors. In 51 games, the junior third baseman has hit .284 with 36 RBI and 27 runs scored so far in 2018. He has nine doubles, one triple and three home runs.  The Langhorne, Pa., native has collected 12 multi-hit games and nine multi-RBI contests.

Meanwhile, Price enters the week with a 6-4 record with four saves and a 4.34 ERA over 58 innings. Six of his 21 appearances have been starts. The sophomore right-hander has struck out 73 and walked 21.

Price is tied for second in overall wins and fourth in overall strikeouts. He was named Big South Pitcher of the Week for April 9.

High Point outfielder Austen Zente was selected the Big South Player of the Year. Meanwhile, Campbell took three major awards as right-hander Allan Winans was voted the Big South Pitcher of the Year, Head Coach Justin Haire was named Coach of the Year and pitcher Logan Bender was selected Freshman of the Year. Charleston Southern outfielder Josh Litchfield was chosen the Big South Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

 The No. 3 seed Liberty Flames will square off with the No. 6 seed Raford Highlander, Tuesday in Game 2 of the Big South Baseball Championship at Liberty Baseball Stadium.  First pitch is scheduled for approximately 45 minutes after Game 1 between No. 2 seed High Point and No. 7 seed Charleston Southern, which begins at 9:30 a.m.

2018 Big South Conference Baseball Awards

OF   Austen Zente, Sr., High Point
OF   Matthew Barefoot, R-Soph., Campbell
OF   D.J. Artis, Jr., Liberty
INF  Mitch Spires, Sr., Winthrop
INF  Hunter Lee, Sr., High Point
INF  Jonathan White, Jr., Presbyterian
INF  Corey Howard, Jr., Gardner-Webb
C    Daniel Millwee, Jr., High Point
UTL Tre Todd, Jr., Liberty
DH   Jeff Hahs, Sr., Campbell
SP   Allan Winans, R-Sr., Campbell
SP   Austin Ross, R-Sr., Radford
SP   Andrew Gottfried, Jr., High Point
RP   Rion Murrah, Sr., High Point
RP   Logan Bender, Fr., Campbell

OF   A.J. Priaulx, Sr., Presbyterian
OF   Chris Clary, Jr., Gardner-Webb
OF   Mickey Dugan, Sr., Gardner-Webb
INF  Christian Jones, Sr., Campbell
INF  Spencer Horwitz, Soph., Radford
INF  Tyler Halstead, Sr., Winthrop
INF  Travis Holt, Fr., High Point
C    Christian Maggio, Fr., Charleston Southern
UTL Mike Sconzo, Sr., Charleston Southern
DH   Chandler Redmond, Jr., Gardner-Webb
SP   Bradley Hallman, Sr., Gardner-Webb
SP   Nate Pawelczyk, Jr., Winthrop
SP   Michael Horrell, Jr., Campbell
RP   Tyson Messer, Jr., Campbell
RP   Ryan Hedrick, Sr., Presbyterian

Zach Peek, Soph., SP, Winthrop
Mason Fox, Jr., OF, Gardner-Webb
Tyler Galazin, Jr., INF, Liberty
Sammy Miller, Sr., OF, Longwood
Garret Price, Soph., SP, Liberty

Kyle Mehl, Sr., INF, Campbell
Josh Litchfield, Jr., OF, Charleston Southern
Eric Jones, Jr., 3B, Gardner-Webb
Andrew Gottfried, Jr., RHP, High Point
Zach Clinton, Jr., P Liberty
Zach Potojecki, Sr., RHP, Longwood
AJ Priaulx, Sr., LF, Presbyterian College
Kyle Palmer, R-Sr., LHP, Radford
Jesse Juday, Sr., RHP, UNC Asheville
Hunter Lipscomb, Jr., OF, Winthrop

Austen Zente, OF, Sr., High Point

Allan Winans, RHP, R-Sr., Campbell

Logan Bender, RP, Fr., Campbell

Justin Haire, Campbell

Josh Litchfield, Jr., OF, Charleston Southern