Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Lady Flames Tennis Seeded Second for BSC Women's Tennis Championship

April 15, 2018  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Video Views: 35922

2018 Big South Women's Tennis Championship Bracket
Tournament Central

Liberty women's tennis has earned the No. 2 seed for the upcoming 2018 Big South Women's Tennis Championship.

The Lady Flames (16-8) finished 7-1 in the league and will face No. 7 seed UNC Asheville in a quarterfinal match on Thursday at 3 p.m. Liberty enters the championship on a six-match winning streak and also bested UNC Asheville, 7-0, on March 30 in Lynchburg.

The four-day tournament will be held at the Rock Hill Tennis Center in Rock Hill, S.C. A first round match will take place on Wednesday, followed by the quarterfinals on Thursday, semifinals on Friday and the final on Saturday.

Host Winthrop is the top seed in the tournament following an undefeated (8-0) regular season. The Eagles edged the Lady Flames, 4-3, on March 31. Campbell is the No. 3 seed following a 6-2 mark in conference play. Charleston Southern (5-3) is the No. 4 seed and will face No. 5 seed Presbyterian (4-4) in a quarterfinal matchup.

Radford (3-5) is the No. 6 seed. Gardner-Webb (1-7) and Longwood (0-8) are the No. 8 and No. 9 seeds and will square off in the first match of the championship on Wednesday morning at 10 a.m.

The winner of the Liberty-UNC Asheville match will move on to face either No. 3 seed Campbell or No. 6 seed Radford in the semifinals.

The championship match will be contested on Saturday at 10 a.m. Liberty is seeking its first Big South title in program history.

The winner of the 2018 Big South Women's Tennis Championship will earn an automatic bid to the 2018 Division I Women's Tennis Championships.

2018 Big South Women's Tennis Championship (Rock Hill Tennis Center, Rock Hill, S.C.)
Wednesday, April 18 – First Round
Match 1:  No. 8 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 9 Longwood, 10 a.m.

Thursday, April 19 – Quarterfinals
Match 2:  No. 1 Winthrop vs. No. 8/9 winner, 9 a.m.
Match 3:  No. 4 Charleston Southern vs. No. 5 Presbyterian College, 12 p.m.
Match 4:  No. 2 Liberty vs. No. 7 UNC Asheville, 3 p.m.
Match 5:  No. 3 Campbell vs. No. 6 Radford, 6 p.m.

Friday, April 20 – Semifinals
Match 6:  Match 2 winner vs. Match 3 winner, 10 a.m.
Match 7:  Match 4 winner vs. Match 5 winner, 2 p.m.

Saturday, April 21 – Championship
Match 8:  Match 6 winner vs. Match 7 winner, 10 a.m.