Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Osborne Stadium Pitch Named STMA College Soccer Field of the Year

December 1, 2017  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Osborne Stadium Pitch Named STMA College Soccer Field of the Year

The pitch at Osborne Stadium has been tabbed as college soccer's 2017 Field of the Year by the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA).

"Each year our Awards Committee independently selects the safest and most playable natural grass playing surfaces exemplifying the sports turf manager's hard work and dedication," says Kim Heck, CAE, CEO of STMA. "With an increase in applicants year over year, we are ecstatic to see the growing number of outstanding sports turf managers continually raise the bar with the fields they prepare and maintain."

The Osborne Stadium field is serviced and maintained by Brian Hinkley, Liberty's athletics field manager, as well as Kimball Chambers, Joe Knight, Zach Horsley, Tyler Bergin, and Dakota Riley.

The Osborne Stadium pitch plays host to Liberty's men's and women's soccer teams.

A panel of 13 judges independently scored entries based on playability, the appearance of surfaces, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program.

Awards will be presented at the 2018 annual STMA Conference & Exhibition in Fort Worth, Texas, Jan. 16-19.

Since 1992, STMA's Field of the Year Award is presented to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting grounds at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12) and parks and recreation level. The 2017 winners are listed below:


  • BASEBALL: Parkview Field at Ft. Wayne Tincaps (Fort Wayne, Indiana): Keith Winter, Head Groundskeeper
  • SOCCER: Moneygram Soccer Park Field 8 at FC Dallas (Frisco, Texas): Troy Crawford, Director of Grounds

College and University

  • BASEBALL: Cleveland S. Harley Baseball Park at University of South Carolina Upstate (Spartanburg, South Carolina): Travis Dill, Sports Turf Technician
  • FOOTBALL: Historic Grant Field at Georgia Tech University (Atlanta, Georgia): Chris May, Director of Athletic Grounds
  • SOCCER: Osborne Stadium at Liberty University (Lynchburg, Virginia): Brian Hinkley, CSFM, Athletic Field Manager
  • SOFTBALL: Patricia Wilson Field at Stetson University (DeLand, Florida): Steve Barnard, Field Maintenance Technician
  • SPORTING GROUNDS: 5/3 Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State (Kennesaw, Georgia): Shane Hohlbein, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager

Schools and Parks

  • BASEBALL: McLean County PONY Baseball (Bloomington, Illinois): Andy Ommen, Head Groundskeeper
  • FOOTBALL: Cowboys Field at Jim Warren Park (Franklin, Tennessee): John Wagnon, Athletic Crew Chief
  • SOCCER: Longfellow Park at Park District of Oak Park (Oak Park, Illinois): Travis Stephen, Sports Field Manager
  • SOFTBALL: Blue Eagle Softball Complex at Clover School District (Clover, South Carolina): Will Rogers, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager
  • SPORTING GROUNDS: Pleasantview Championship Field at City of Boulder (Boulder, Colorado): John Cogdill, Manager