Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Women's Lacrosse Reveals 2018 Schedule

November 16, 2017  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty Women's Lacrosse Reveals 2018 Schedule

2018 Schedule

The Liberty women's lacrosse program has revealed its 2018 schedule. The Lady Flames will open the year at Mercer on Feb. 10 and start Big South competition on March 31 against Presbyterian.  

"I am really excited about our 2018 schedule. These games will challenge us and make us better as we continue to build this program into a championship team," stated Liberty Women's Lacrosse Head Coach Kelly Nangle.

Liberty's home opener will take place on Feb. 25 against the Robert Morris Colonials.

Liberty's meeting with Mercer to begin the season will be the first time the two programs have met. The Bears posted a 13-6 overall mark and 7-3 record in the Atlantic Sun, last spring.

Following their opener, the Lady Flames will take on North Carolina in Chapel Hill, N.C. on Feb. 18. The Tar Heels finished the 2017 season No. 2 in the NCAA Women's Lacrosse RPI and in the No. 5 spot in the final Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) poll with a 17-3 record.

Other nonconference bouts for Liberty include: at East Carolina (Feb. 21), at Old Dominion (Feb. 28), at Richmond (March 3), versus Butler (March 13), at Arizona State (March 20), at San Diego State (March 23) and versus William & Mary (March 28).

Liberty will start its Big South slate with two home matches, taking on Presbyterian (March 31) and Gardner-Webb (April 4) at the Liberty Lacrosse Field. The Lady Flames' other home conference games are against Longwood (April 11) and Winthrop (April 14).

Liberty will play three Big South road contests, starting with an April 8 game at reigning conference champion High Point.

The Lady Flames will wrap up their league slate at Radford and at Campbell, April 18 and 21.

The 2018 Big South Women's Lacrosse Championship will be held on April 28, May 4 and May 6. Quarterfinal games will be played at the higher seeds, while the semifinals and finals will be held at the site of the No. 1 seed. The winner of the tournament will receive an automatic berth into the 2018 Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship.