Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

2017-18 Big South WBB Schedule Released

September 8, 2017  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty will tip off its 18-game Big South Conference schedule at Presbyterian on Jan. 2.

Liberty will tip off its 18-game Big South Conference schedule at Presbyterian on Jan. 2.

2017-18 Liberty Women's Basketball Schedule

The 2017-18 Big South Conference women's basketball schedule was announced today, including 18 games for each team. Liberty will play a home-and-home with each of the other nine Big South teams, beginning with a Jan. 2 visit to Presbyterian.

The Lady Flames are slated to play conference games every Tuesday and Saturday from Jan. 2 through March 3, when High Point will visit the Vines Center for the regular-season finale.

For the first time, Liberty will open Big South Conference play at Presbyterian, Jan. 2 in Clinton, S.C.

Liberty's Big South home opener will pit the Lady Flames against Charleston Southern on Jan. 6. The Lady Flames will look to avenge a 52-50 setback from the 2017 Big South Championship quarterfinals.

Challenging Stretch
On paper, the most difficult stretch of the Lady Flames' conference schedule will see Liberty play four out of five games on the road between Feb. 10-24.

The span begins with back-to-back road games against the top two seeds from the 2017 Big South Women's Basketball Championship, Campbell (Feb. 10) and Radford (Feb. 13).

Liberty briefly returns to the Vines Center to host two-time defending Big South champion UNC Asheville on Feb. 17.

The Lady Flames will then make a pair of trips to South Carolina in the same week, visiting Winthrop (Feb. 20) and Charleston Southern (Feb. 24).

Home to Stay
Liberty will not have to travel for at least two weeks, as the Lady Flames close the regular season with home matchups against Longwood (Feb. 27) and High Point (March 3). Those contests lead into the Big South Women's Basketball Championship at the Vines Center.

Big South Championship
The Lady Flames will play host to the Big South Women's Basketball Championship for the second consecutive season, March 8-11 at the Vines Center. The top six seeds will receive byes to the March 9 quarterfinal round.